Marinated Barbequed Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
The first time I made this, I made it exactly like the recipe says to make it, but it wasn't enough marinade and we didn't care for the eggplant. The way I make it now is I use one zuchini, one yellow squash, one red pepper and baby portabellas, and I double the marinade. The last time I made it, I added a couple of dashes of cayenne pepper and some chopped fresh cilantro to the marinade, and after taking the vegetables out of it to put on the skewers, I threw some fresh shrimp into the marinade while I grilled the vegetables, and then grilled the shrimp and it was great! This is our new favorite way to have vegies and shrimp! Also, like other reviewers said, it is best to marinate in a large ziplock bag so you can flip it over to marinate really good, and dry basil works great in place of fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
371 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody Campos Dowling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
Not the best recipe I've ever tried for grilled vegetables... The lemon was a little overpowering and after grilling, I thought it left a very acidic unflavorful (and I do like lemon) taste to the veggies. Others liked the results, but I don't think I'll make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Hooper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: New Albany, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
I made this yesterday and marinated it for about 4 hours. My guests said the peppers and mushrooms and zuchinnis were good but the eggplant absorbed too much lemon flavor. Maybe next time I will add the eggplant only at the very end. That said, noone was overwhelmed by it and will probably stick to plain oil and garlic grilled veggies next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
I made this with just zucchini and red and yellow bell peppers. I marinated for about 6.5 hours and it was amazing! I made it with Grilled Chicken with Herbs from this site and it was a really good combination. It was even better left over. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
I was unsure of how some of the flavors of the recipe would mesh together so I left out the basil. This was still pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
We made this recently but with a few changes. We added some red onion and fresh tiny asparagus. We also added 1 Tbs balamic vinegar to the marinade. It was tasty and a good use of some of our garden vegetables
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Center Moriches, New York, USA
Living In: Black Mountain, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunFlower
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
Very good side for a bbq!I let the veggies marinate during 3 hours and the lemon flavour was perfectly balanced. I didn't use as much olive oil as suggested by the recipe: 1 tbsp was plenty enough for us (and much healthier!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
I didn't use as a marinade but basted it on the veggies during grilling. My mom said that they were part of my best meal ever, and that is saying alot because I am a professional. I didn't use the basil (I didn't have fresh). But I did add fresh lemon zest to the oil infusion. yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Hillsboro, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
Upgrading this to 5 stars. Should have edited my review a long time ago. It is the Eggplant that absorbs too much of the lemon flavour - so adjust accordingly. I now chop in large segments and grill on a bbq grill plate. Still love it... wonderfu!! I do add extra garlic :) and truly, although dried basil works, fresh is wonderful! lThe 4 stars is more from my way of preparing. Should not have left them to marinated as long as I did (about 3 hours)as the lemon taste was a tiny bit too strong. I also only had one clove of garlic, too bad, could have used more! The vegetable mix was wonderful. I love eggplant and you can do almost any vegie mix with this. Throw in a jalapeno for a little bite! Had only dried basil but it worked fine. Always marinate in a bag - so much easier to just flip it over. Will be making again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRAGNLAW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
I put the veggies & marinade in a big zip-loc & let them marinate in there...it's much easier to get them all coated in a baggie. I didn't skewer them but layed a piece of foil over my grill grate & poured them on. I added onions to the mix but otherwise didn't change a thing. Next time I will omit the eggplant because noone cared for it much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Grill Vegetables

Get tips for cooking all kinds of fresh vegetables on the grill.

Savory Garlic Marinated Steaks

See how to make a simple marinade for tender, flavorful grilled steaks.

Pickled Grilled Vegetables

See how to pickle grilled cucumbers and red peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States