Marinated Barbequed Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Fantastic! I make this all the time!!!! Sometimes I switch up the vegetables but keep the same basic marinade - real keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
I added squash which was great. The eggplant was pretty bitter - Normally with eggplant I put salt on the sections after cutting it, then rinse it off after 10 minutes. Somehow it neutralizes the flavor. I didn't do that this time and could definitely tell the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
The first time I made this, I made it exactly like the recipe says to make it, but it wasn't enough marinade and we didn't care for the eggplant. The way I make it now is I use one zuchini, one yellow squash, one red pepper and baby portabellas, and I double the marinade. The last time I made it, I added a couple of dashes of cayenne pepper and some chopped fresh cilantro to the marinade, and after taking the vegetables out of it to put on the skewers, I threw some fresh shrimp into the marinade while I grilled the vegetables, and then grilled the shrimp and it was great! This is our new favorite way to have vegies and shrimp! Also, like other reviewers said, it is best to marinate in a large ziplock bag so you can flip it over to marinate really good, and dry basil works great in place of fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
372 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody Campos Dowling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
Not the best recipe I've ever tried for grilled vegetables... The lemon was a little overpowering and after grilling, I thought it left a very acidic unflavorful (and I do like lemon) taste to the veggies. Others liked the results, but I don't think I'll make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Hooper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: New Albany, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
I made this yesterday and marinated it for about 4 hours. My guests said the peppers and mushrooms and zuchinnis were good but the eggplant absorbed too much lemon flavor. Maybe next time I will add the eggplant only at the very end. That said, noone was overwhelmed by it and will probably stick to plain oil and garlic grilled veggies next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
I made this with just zucchini and red and yellow bell peppers. I marinated for about 6.5 hours and it was amazing! I made it with Grilled Chicken with Herbs from this site and it was a really good combination. It was even better left over. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
I was unsure of how some of the flavors of the recipe would mesh together so I left out the basil. This was still pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
We made this recently but with a few changes. We added some red onion and fresh tiny asparagus. We also added 1 Tbs balamic vinegar to the marinade. It was tasty and a good use of some of our garden vegetables
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Center Moriches, New York, USA
Living In: Black Mountain, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunFlower
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
Very good side for a bbq!I let the veggies marinate during 3 hours and the lemon flavour was perfectly balanced. I didn't use as much olive oil as suggested by the recipe: 1 tbsp was plenty enough for us (and much healthier!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
I didn't use as a marinade but basted it on the veggies during grilling. My mom said that they were part of my best meal ever, and that is saying alot because I am a professional. I didn't use the basil (I didn't have fresh). But I did add fresh lemon zest to the oil infusion. yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Hillsboro, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Grill Vegetables

Get tips for cooking all kinds of fresh vegetables on the grill.

Savory Garlic Marinated Steaks

See how to make a simple marinade for tender, flavorful grilled steaks.

Pickled Grilled Vegetables

See how to pickle grilled cucumbers and red peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States