Marinara Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
Perfect. It was very easy and very, very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I used fresh tomatoes out of my garden. I blanched them to remove skins and mashed them myself. This sauce has excellent flavor. The wine makes it. Would like to can some for winter using my garden tomatoes. I did add tomato paste to thicken it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Beckerkorn
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
The wine makes this recipe. I took the advice of other reviewers and left out the water. Since I was using fresh chopped tomatoes (6 large-ish tomatoes made about 4 cups of sauce!), I found there was more than enough liquid, even without the water. Therefore I simmered the sauce for 45 minutes to reduce it to the desired consistency. Other modifications: sauteing the garlic with onions and mushrooms, and adding dried parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beckerkorn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
This would have easily been a five star if not for the salt. I used about 2/3 of the salt called for and put the sauce over gnocchi. The gnocchi should have mitigated the salt, right? Nope. Way too salty for us. I will make again, but will add salt sparingly and taste as I go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SherryL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Was surprised that a recipe this simple could taste so good. Will absolutely make this again. I added tomato paste, and cut the oil back to 2 tbs. after reading other reviews. Our store bought marinara days are over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debra Goldsworthy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I used this sauce when I made my chicken parmesan and everyone loved it. I made bowtie pasta to go with it. I made it again this weekend and everyone loved it. The wine I used was Shutter home white zinfandel this time and the taste of the sauce was even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
The flavor of wine was strong. I believe a sweet red would be much better in this recipe than the dry red I used. It tasted great as a dip with toasted ciabatta bread. I would have only given the recipe 3 stars but since I didn't have any fresh basil on hand I used dried basil so I bumped it up a star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
This was a great simple sauce! I didn't have any wine in the house so I substituted beer. Funny enough... It really worked. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
This was OK, but a lot heavier than I think of marinara being. I would use as a regular pasta sauce, but it's just too much for dipping or lighter pasta dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
This was just the kind of recipe I was looking for. Basic, and one that I could customize as I wanted to. I didn't have any red wine on hand so used some chardonnay and I think it tasted great. I also added some onion, zucchini and baby portobello mushrooms. I simmered for an hour or so so it would thicken. Really good, simple sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Marinara Sauce Yet

Make this great marinara sauce for your favorite pasta dish.

Marinara Sauce for Canning

Turn an abundance of tomatoes into delicious canned tomato sauce.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States