Marinara Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Was surprised that a recipe this simple could taste so good. Will absolutely make this again. I added tomato paste, and cut the oil back to 2 tbs. after reading other reviews. Our store bought marinara days are over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I used this sauce when I made my chicken parmesan and everyone loved it. I made bowtie pasta to go with it. I made it again this weekend and everyone loved it. The wine I used was Shutter home white zinfandel this time and the taste of the sauce was even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
The flavor of wine was strong. I believe a sweet red would be much better in this recipe than the dry red I used. It tasted great as a dip with toasted ciabatta bread. I would have only given the recipe 3 stars but since I didn't have any fresh basil on hand I used dried basil so I bumped it up a star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
This was a great simple sauce! I didn't have any wine in the house so I substituted beer. Funny enough... It really worked. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
This was OK, but a lot heavier than I think of marinara being. I would use as a regular pasta sauce, but it's just too much for dipping or lighter pasta dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
This was just the kind of recipe I was looking for. Basic, and one that I could customize as I wanted to. I didn't have any red wine on hand so used some chardonnay and I think it tasted great. I also added some onion, zucchini and baby portobello mushrooms. I simmered for an hour or so so it would thicken. Really good, simple sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Very good and super easy! I subbed brown sugar for white, and used this sauce for baked ravioli. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Alright alright alright...I was having my doubts when I was in the middle of making it. Thought maybe it was because I had doubled the recipe and used canned tomatoes (2 28-oz cans). It was looking rather thin so I added another 6 oz of tomato paste. Even at the end, was still doubtful because the color wasn't your typical marinara color. Then I tasted it. Yeah, it's good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BYL70

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Nice aftertaste, rather subtle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I added 1 medium onion and omitted the wine. I also grated in half a carrot for a little sweetness. Next time I'll leave out the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Marinara Sauce Yet

Make this great marinara sauce for your favorite pasta dish.

Marinara Sauce for Canning

Turn an abundance of tomatoes into delicious canned tomato sauce.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States