Marinara Sauce III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
I thought the flavor was great and had no consistency problems, even after 3 hours of simmering. For those that had liquid evaporate, did you simmer it covered? I recommend doing so and you probably won't have as many issues with evaporation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ryan, Iowa, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2002
First, the flavor of this sauce is fantastic. However, after the first hour of simmering, all the liquid evaporated, and the sauce became more of a paste-- I kept adding wine to try to thin it out. This recipe is a good base for a sauce, but not a good sauce by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2004
Awesome recipe. I let mine simmer about 4 hours. Did add some V8 occasionally throughout the cooking period as the liquid kept evaporating. Great flavor and texture. NOTE: Very oily as written. I decreased the olive oil by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
I quadrupled this recipe and let it hang out in the crockpot all day long. Wonderful. Put all the extra in the freezer and it works great for all kinds of Italian recipes. Lasagne, pizza, spaghetti etc. Great for once a month cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I doubled this recipe which was very easy to do. I plan to freeze the leftovers. It was a bit oily and I used only 3/4 cup of oil. I may use 1/2 cup next time. I used fresh-chopped basil, a few dashes of sea salt, tablespoon of red pepper flakes and a couple splashes of dry red wine. I had no problems with this cooking down or evaporating. It never went pasty at all and I cooked it covered on low for 3 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Al Bird

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Glenwood Springs, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
I was surprised when I saw celery and carrot in a marinara sauce, but it came out great! I did make some variations. For the meat lovers coming to dinner, I made as recommended, but added ground beef. For the veggie lovers, I added zucchini, broccoli, yellow squash, and a little red wine. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Wendell, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
I sauteed the vegetables in 1/4 cup of the olive oil before adding to the other ingredients. I ended up throwing all the ingredients in my small slow cooker and letting it cook on LOW for most of the day. This was just what I needed for dinner tonight using bits and pieces of what I had on hand. Next time, I'll throw in some meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
I liked this recipe. I added a small can of tom. paste and garlic salt in the last hour of simmering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
Hmm. I wouldn't call this a marinara--more like a chunky spaghetti sauce. It's not bad, but I too had problems with the liquid evaporating. I kept the lid on during cooking, so I know that isn't it. I added in about a cup red wine for liquid, but if I made it again I'd add in V8 instead. Didn't like the combo of wine with the rest of the ingredients. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
This was very tastey! My husband thought it could have used salt, but I thought it was fine. We used it to dip our calzones in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olean, New York, USA
Living In: Pueblo West, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marinara Sauce for Canning

Turn an abundance of tomatoes into delicious canned tomato sauce.

Best Marinara Sauce Yet

Make this great marinara sauce for your favorite pasta dish.

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States