Marinara Meatball Subs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
What a great idea for something different on game day. I prepared these for the Nebraska/Iowa football game, 2014. We used Mr. C's locally produced spaghetti sauce, which is a sweet sauce, which we love. I'm not sure they would be as tasty with straight marinara sauce. The meatballs were rustic and delicious, though I may add more salt and pepper or other spices next time. Though delicious, with more spice they would have had more pizzazz. I did have provolone cheese available, which I put underneath the meatballs. Obviously, these sandwiches are a little messy, so we had a fork at the ready to make eating a bit easier. Make sure you purchase good bread, which makes all the difference in the world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
My absolute go-to for tailgates and large gatherings. Also, reheats like a dream and sits in a crockpot without getting soggy. When I saw that it was a "corporate sponsor" recipe, I wasn't sure, but this one is a real winner. I make this up and we have sandwiches one day and then if there are any leftovers, they go on pasta. Honestly, with three teens at home, there aren't leftovers often. At tailgates, I cook it all up and then just reheat on the grill in a stock pot. We do top the sandwiches with provolone on occasion, but we also have a family member with dairy issues. You can leave out all of the cheeses and it really doesn't affect the taste. My only warning is not to make the meatballs too big or they get hard to eat on a bun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Made this tonight as something different and it was amazing! made them a bit smaller and since i made the meatballs smaller (about ping pong ball size) was able to get about 16 subs (with 3-4 meatballs each) out of it. would halve the sauce as we had a few cups remaining, but will put into a spaghetti sauce. also, only used 1/4 c of grated Parmesan with the meat mix and topped with shredded mozarella and parmesan. people were going for seconds while i was still dishing out firsts! fantastic! thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Let's just say that it didn't last long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Really good we did cut the recipe in half as it makes quite a bit. We made our meatballs on the smaller side and served them on mini sub rolls. The meatballs had great texture and using a prepared sauce makes them super quick. Thanks for a lovely sandwich recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Photo by nezza88
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
My kids loved this recipe it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by luvcookingnewbie
Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Instead or adding more Parmesan on top I added Provolone and put them in the oven de a few minutes until bun was toasted. I also used French rolls instead and were pretty good. I think next time I'll add a little spice to the sauce to spice it up a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
This was a delicious recipe. I would add another half jar of marinara sauce and some provolone cheese. Kids loved it and so did I. Great meatballs! I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Meatball Sandwich

See how to make a quick-and-easy meatball sandwich.

Meatball Grinder

This Italian meatball sandwich is hefty and satisfying.

Meatball Nirvana

See how to make top-rated baked meatballs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States