Marinara Dipping Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
LOVED IT!!! And I couldn't even follow the recipe right - had no tomatoes, so used 1 can tomato paste, no fresh basil, so used 1 tsp dried basil, no fresh garlic, so 1/4 tsp powdered, 1/2 c. water and salt & pepper to taste. Still....turned very YUMMY! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHTTRBUGIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
Delicious! My husband -who doesn't like tomato sauces that much -loved it. I added a hot pepper in to the sauce (because I love a little kick) and ended up actually serving it over pasta. I will definitly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dramaqueenjs

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
This recipe was absolutely delicious. I too added one can of tomato paste just to give it some extra thickness for dipping. That was a great suggestion!! I will for sure make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
Simmer uncovered to evaporate the water, but keep a close eye on it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2004
I have used this recipe over and over again. My daughter has a food day at school and we make it and send with a loaf of french bread. I've also served it with shrimp and pasta. Many other possibilities also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2004
I omitted the water, and added a small can of tomato paste... I also doubled the recipe, and had to double the sugar--excellent! We had it with toasted raviloi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2003
After it was done cooking I drained the extra water and added 10oz. tomato paste and cooked it an extra 10 minutes. It was the best marinara sauce I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2001
This is an excellent marinara sauce. As with any marinara sauce, it is thinner, but not "watery" as one of the reviews read. This is excellent served as a dipping sauce with foccacia bread. Thanks Jackie for creating this sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phnz2lft

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2000
The taste was good, but the dip was too watery. Maybe I did not do something quite right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2000
I needed a sauce for my homemade mozzarella sticks and found this to be easy and very complimenting to my appetizer. Very fresh too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Marinara Sauce Yet

Make this great marinara sauce for your favorite pasta dish.

Marinara Sauce for Canning

Turn an abundance of tomatoes into delicious canned tomato sauce.

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States