Marilyn's Green Beans Italiano Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
It looked delicious but I wasn't impressed with the flavor. I usually add a Tbs of salt to water when I'm cooking green beans, that brings out their flavor, but since it wasn't in the recipe I didn't do it. Big mistake! I added chopped garlic and sauteed in the butter before adding bread crumbs+Parmesan, and I didn't have fresh parsley so skipped that part. The crumbs didn't stay on the green beans, and everything just tasted bland, the garlic didn't even come through. I guess I needed more green bean flavor and spice to make this interesting... but it's not the healthiest way to eat green beans AND I didn't enjoy it so I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Nice, alternate way to prepare green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Loved the crispy Parmesan flavor. I used garlic salt since so others recommended adding garlic. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
I think the parmesan is better on top after the dish is done but by far the best way to spruce up green beans that I have found. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
I made this recipe exactly as written last night and the entire family loved it. I served these beans with Italian Breaded Pork Chops, also from this site, and parsley potatoes with a half cup of sour cream to take the potatoes up a notch. This dinner was worth a 10 star rating and would be a customer pick on any resaurant meno.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Andre'

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
This is a super easy way to jazz up green beans. I used it when we had so many beans in season that we needed variety. It looks so beautiful in the dish; I tucked julienne red bell pepper all around the border of the dish. It'll be my new Christmas bean dish, a lot lighter than the mushroom soup etc. One thing to be careful about is that you really want keep proportions right. One time I made it, the bread crumb/parmesan was overwhelming - also delicious but not what I had in mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
I loved it! My family however...not so much. They are anti-green when it comes to veggies, broccoli, green beans, peas. I can dress them up in chocolate and they'll still have a hard time eating them. I thought they were delicious and super tasty. I did omit to the parsley though because I didn't have any but it was still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
The only seasoning is the little bit in the bread crumbs. How about some garlic and basil? Or even a spoonful of Tomato sauce to give it some oumph! And all that butter? Who needs that when most of us are watching our fat intake. Not impressed with this recipe, it needed a lot of work. Sorry, not a keeper in my Box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Scriver
Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
I thought these were pretty good. I may try slipping in an herb to make it better. We did enjoy "as is" though. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Very good recipe. I used Parmigiana and Romano cheese with Pre-seasoned Italian bread crumbs. The flavor was great but it was very salty. The next time I make it I will omit the salt alltogether
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Userdags

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Matawan, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States