Marilyn's Cheesy Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
VERY good! Doubled the potato due to another reviewers comment and added a can of corn/black bean/red pepper blend for more flavor. Also, did 3 cups of skim and 1 cup of fat free half & half to make it a little healthier. Its a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SaddleClub09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
This is the best!!! I actually put in more vegetables than the recipe calls for but thats just the way I cook. I never follow a recipe exact. Also I use Old Bay seasoning in it. and Real Cream! This is such a hit I make 18 quarts of it once a year for our soup supper. I actually have people give me money to make it for them. YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Neubauer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rochford, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
I've been making this recipe for five years now. I loooove it. Every time I make it a little different, but the base is fantastic. Everyone I feed it to have seconds without fail - so good! Thank you for such a wonderful recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
This is A++. I have never made it with cheese and I am a cheese freak. Only difference I did was omit the cornstarch and carrots and used 2 cups milk and 2 cups half & half. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marley_Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
absolutely delicious! i left out the celery and carrots. Tastes just like the chowder at my favorite sea food restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EGLpirate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
Loved it - made up a batch for National Clam Chowder Day (Feb 23) and it was a huge hit. Used sweet potato in place of white because it was all I had on hand. Also use extra sharp white cheddar - gave a tremendous kick to the chowder although it didn't look as nice, it separated too much but that was my own fault.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsjawshewa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
Marilyn we love you!!!! your chowder was very good. we added leeks insted of carrots and it was fabulous. This chowder is the best we have had in a long time. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
I thought this soup was very good. I had never had cheese in clam chowder before, but it went well with it. I will definitely make this again. Had enough for left overs too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, California, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Wonderful Clam Chowder. I made this the day before to serve on Christmas Eve to a small group. They loved it. Had some left over for the next day - yummy! I used sharp cheddar cheese and half and half instead of milk. Very rich and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
Wow, what a delicious soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Homewood, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States