Marilyn's Cheesy Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2001
My 3 1/2 year old daughter and I made this over the weekend and it was great. We added extra veggies and used half & half instead of milk to make it extra creamy. It is definitely in our family's soup rotation from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Matthews

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2005
This is very good chowder - thick, rich and tasty. I cut the amount of cheese just a bit, but it definitely added a richness to the flavor without tasting too "cheesy". I will be making this one again and again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELTAQUEEN50

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2004
Needs more potatoes. Directions step 4 & 5 both say to add the potatoes. Which is correct? Still a good flavor, will use again (modified).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Wonderful Clam Chowder. I made this the day before to serve on Christmas Eve to a small group. They loved it. Had some left over for the next day - yummy! I used sharp cheddar cheese and half and half instead of milk. Very rich and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
Loved it - made up a batch for National Clam Chowder Day (Feb 23) and it was a huge hit. Used sweet potato in place of white because it was all I had on hand. Also use extra sharp white cheddar - gave a tremendous kick to the chowder although it didn't look as nice, it separated too much but that was my own fault.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsjawshewa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2002
I loved this receipe! It had just the perfect combination of flavors. The cheese added a little zip, I used sharp white cheddar. Also, I didn't add all the flour it called for, made it more like a soup rather than a thick chowder. Everyone loved it! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2002
I love it! Made enough to freeze for another meal. My picky son even ate it! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
Marilyn we love you!!!! your chowder was very good. we added leeks insted of carrots and it was fabulous. This chowder is the best we have had in a long time. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
I loved this soup! Even my six year old, who loves the "clam" in the soup but hates the "chowder" part, loved this and wanted seconds!!! It was delicious. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2003
this was fantastic! I used 1 bottle clam juice and one knorr chicken boullon+water to make up for the second bottle. a dash of old bay too. perfect for monday night football dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CCINNB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford Lakes, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States