Marilyn's Cheesy Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Very good. I doubled all of the veggies. It would be a little thin without that. The bacon grease adds a good flavor, but use very little bacon garnish as it can be a little overpowering. I will definitely make it again and maybe try the Half and Half next time, although it was thick enough with the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
VERY good! Doubled the potato due to another reviewers comment and added a can of corn/black bean/red pepper blend for more flavor. Also, did 3 cups of skim and 1 cup of fat free half & half to make it a little healthier. Its a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SaddleClub09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
This is the best!!! I actually put in more vegetables than the recipe calls for but thats just the way I cook. I never follow a recipe exact. Also I use Old Bay seasoning in it. and Real Cream! This is such a hit I make 18 quarts of it once a year for our soup supper. I actually have people give me money to make it for them. YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Neubauer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rochford, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
I've been making this recipe for five years now. I loooove it. Every time I make it a little different, but the base is fantastic. Everyone I feed it to have seconds without fail - so good! Thank you for such a wonderful recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
This is A++. I have never made it with cheese and I am a cheese freak. Only difference I did was omit the cornstarch and carrots and used 2 cups milk and 2 cups half & half. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marley_Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
absolutely delicious! i left out the celery and carrots. Tastes just like the chowder at my favorite sea food restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EGLpirate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
Loved it - made up a batch for National Clam Chowder Day (Feb 23) and it was a huge hit. Used sweet potato in place of white because it was all I had on hand. Also use extra sharp white cheddar - gave a tremendous kick to the chowder although it didn't look as nice, it separated too much but that was my own fault.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsjawshewa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
Marilyn we love you!!!! your chowder was very good. we added leeks insted of carrots and it was fabulous. This chowder is the best we have had in a long time. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
I thought this soup was very good. I had never had cheese in clam chowder before, but it went well with it. I will definitely make this again. Had enough for left overs too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, California, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Wonderful Clam Chowder. I made this the day before to serve on Christmas Eve to a small group. They loved it. Had some left over for the next day - yummy! I used sharp cheddar cheese and half and half instead of milk. Very rich and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States