Marilyn's Cheesy Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Delicious soup. We made this & put it in sour dough bread bowls, was to die for. Only change I made was that I used fresh clams...I would definitely suggest doing that
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
This is the best clam chowder recipe I've made from this site. I made it as written except that I added extra carrots, celery, and onion. I used 2% for the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Tasted great! I mad it less sodium by leaving out bacon and only used clam juice from can. Potatoes need to be added with carrots and onion to cook before adding milk in order to cook thru.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Graham

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newark, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I would cut the amount of cheese, and I thought there were too many clams. I would only use 2 cans, and did use 2 cups half and half, and two cups milk. Overall, pretty easy to make and tasty. I would make again with these changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
This is the BEST clam chowder I have ever had. I added leek instead of onion as well as some extra spices. Thank you Marilyn!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This is the best clam chowder I've ever made! I substituted half and half for the milk which made it thicker. Next time I will only put in 4 oz of cheese instead of 8 oz because although it was delicious the cheese is a bit overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jlnielson5
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Absolutley love how this chowder comes together. My children think it is chicken it is so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Loved this! Husband thought it was OK, but he is a traditional kind of guy. I even cheated and used high quality bacon bits and it was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Really great! I added some leeks but other than that followed the recipe. It was soo good and easy. Served it to my husband in a bread bowl...he loved it too! Don't skip the cheese, it made it go from good to spectaculare
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States