Marie's Homemade Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2015
My issue with this recipe is that the portions are off. You can't fit two pounds of cooked macaroni in a 9 by 13. At least I can't anyway! I have made this several times and had to throw out more than half the noodles which is very wasteful and disappointing. I couldn't fit in the rest of the ingredients either. The recipe was well received so it gets some stars but the dish is just not right. Use half the noodles or less and half the rest of the ingredients and you'll be fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lniedosik

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Clear Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Newport, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by danja
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2015
I made this for my boyfriend and son but they ran out of condensed cheese soup at the store so I substituted it for poblano y queso condensed soup. (Green chili and cheese) my boyfriend loved it . His sons taste buds havnt developed yet so the chili mighta been too much for him but it was absolutely amazing. During the last 15 minutes when it calls for you to take the lid off I sprinkled some breadcrumbs on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Auntie Tippy
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
This is a great version of semi-homemade mac. The condensed cheddar soup makes it very quick and easy to get right. It's not as rich as the other recipes that don't use the soup as a starter, but was still quite nice and much quicker for a week-night meal. I followed the advice of other reviewers and made half the recipe for a full 9x13 pan. It was perfect amount for the pan. I topped mine with crushed cheese crackers for a crumb topping. Added just the perfect crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Auntie Tippy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Makes a ton! But that's okay since my fiancé and I love it. I'll divide it into multiple dishes and take some over to both of our parents houses and there's still enough for us. It's also good reheated later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
This is delicious Mac'n' cheese. I followed the directions precisely. While it was very tasty we found it to be a bit too dry. Next time I will add more cheese and more milk. I think I may keep it covered while baking and then stick it under the broiler for a few minuted to brown the top. I certainly will be using this recipe the next time I bake Mac 'n' Cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
This is a really good, creamy mac and cheese! I did add a little garlic powder and pinch of cayenne pepper which added a little more flavor and a panko topping. I would definitely make this again, it's just not THE recipe yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA
Photo by KZrod
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
When I think of Fall comfort food I think of good old homemade mac n cheese. I cut the recipe in half (only used 3/4 box of pasta) , added a teaspoon of ground mustard, used cheddar jack cheese blend, added (3 links out of casing) of johnsonville sweet Italian sausage (browned & drained first of course), & topped with breadcrumbs.... Just when you thought it couldn't get any better lol!!!! it came out perfect & was delicious! Exactly what our family needed tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KZrod
Home Town: Wappingers Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
My family loves this Mac and cheese!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
I love this version of mac and cheese, this is requested for work functions whenever I need to bring a dish to pass. Only thing I change is that I add bread crumbs to the top for some added texture and don't use salt. I use the amounts as directed, but usually put it in one 9 x 13 pans to cook immediately and two smaller glass dishes that I freeze. I unthaw the frozen ones and cook as directed, still tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Snyder

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Super easy to make and my whole family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Homemade Mac and Cheese

See how to make a velvety, five-star macaroni and cheese.

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States