Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
This was amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I followed some on the tips from others like using beef broth instead of water (although I had to use half beef and half chicken cause that's what I had =D). Other than that I followed the recipe. It was soooooooooooooo good. Super tender and made for great leftovers for lunch =).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
We loved it ,even my mother-in law ate every bite and she is picky, lol:)!I added two cans of beef broth instead of water,more carrots,cooked the potatoes on the side(small crockpot)and added flour and water about an hour before serving and came out with a great gravy.Seasoned to taste w a dash of worschesterchire.Go to for an easy pot roast.Seven happy campers,but it was barely enough!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yvette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodway, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
This was GREAT! I followed the directions exactly and it turned out delicious. The only thing I might change for the next time is to buy pearl onions and baby potatoes, instead of having to chop the larger varieties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
super easy and tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I definitely like the addition of the onion soup mix. Must remember this...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Ok, my 2cents...add a can (14.5 oz) of chopped tomatoes on top of the soup mix. I omitted the potatoes and the celery and put the veggies on the bottom of the crock, then the meat. I also shook some garlic powder on top of them. I serve it with egg noodles that have been tossed with butter browned bread crumbs. I can eat the whole pot myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
I've used this recipe many, many times, but have made several changes to it. I like to coat a couple of sides of the roast with Grillmates steak seasoning (very peppery and has salt), and I also splash some worcestershire sauce on it the night before and stick it in the fridge. The next morning, I sear the sides on the pan (with a little olive oil). I also use beef broth (or chicken broth, whichever I happen to have at home) instead of water. I also use small red potatoes and put them in whole. I cut all of my veggies in large chunks (onion is quartered, carrots in large chunks, etc.) For herbs/seasoning, I also add some thyme and rosemary and 4-6 cloves of minced garlic. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
I have made this twice so bar and it turned out great! Thanks for this great work day recipe! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
This is an absolute FAVORITE pot roast recipe--with a few modifications. The meat is always ridiculously tender, full of flavor, and tastes amazing! The changes we made are pretty simple-- I use 1 or 2 cans of beef broth instead of the 1c water (depending on the size of roast, 3.5lbs+ 2 cans, less than 3lbs 1can) I season the meat with either a montreal steak seasoning or some other seasonings we have handy (garlic salt, onion powder, pepper, maybe some paprika, whatever) and then sear in either a small amount of balsamic vinegar or olive oil. I like lots of vegetables so we double the vegetables and add half at the beginning (mushy vegetables as a result) but the other half a few hours before the end so they are cooked but not mushy (this is why i add the extra broth since i have lots of extra veggies). I have also used the beefy onion dry soup mix a few times but really couldn't tell much difference between normal onion soup mix--so i use whatever is on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
This turned out nice. Only change I made (as suggested by others) was to use beef broth instead of water. Used some of the liquid at the end to make gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thePrairieMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 1,230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States