Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
Oh. MY. GOD. haha that about sums it up! This is a delicious and super easy weeknight dinner. Even my 1.5, 3 and 5 year olds devoured it! I took other reviewers suggestions and seasoned/seared the meat first and the results were amazing. I may just have to add this to my weekly menu list! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
This pot roast was delicious. I took advice from a few others and seasons my 2.5lb chuck roast with garlic powder, pepper, salt, onion powder and Montreal steak rub. Browned it on all sides in a little olive oil before placing it in the slow cooker. I added the dry onion mix and 2 cans of beef broth, and left it for 5 hrs on low. At hr 5 I added green beans and whole baby carrots and left it for another 2.5 hours. After 7.5 hrs I moved the roast and veggies to another container with a little of its own juice (the meat was falling apart). I took some of the juice from the slow cooker, mixed it w/ flour to make gravy. I served with mashed potatoes. Hubby loved it. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
SO GOOD. I added a little bit of worcestershire sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Layla
Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
This is a fantastic recipe. Although some people complain about reviewers modifying the recipe, I value the comments. Without those comments, this site would be just like all the others. Based on the other reviewers, I used 2 cups of low sodium Beef Broth and added extra baby carrots and red potatoes. I also included the vegetables at the beginning because we like soft not crunchy vegetables. It's really a person's personal preference that will determine when to add the vegetables. I made a rub for the roast and placed vegetables at the bottom of the crockpot and added the meat. I let this marinade overnight and started cooking in the morning. It was a hit with the family and has become a keeper. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
I luv luv luv this pot roast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
This was incredibly delicious. I used a 3-pound chuck roast (which was fatter than I expected) and browned it on all sides. After I put the roast in the slow cooker, I looked at the bits in the pan and decided to deglaze it with a little (maybe 3-4 Tbsp) balsamic vinegar. Next I poked 4 peeled and smashed garlic cloves in the roast and poured the thickened balsamic on it. Then I put a large sliced white onion on top and sprinkled the onion soup mix over that. Finally, I poured the water over everything and put it in the fridge. Around midnight, I took it out of the fridge and put it in the cooker on low. When I woke up at 7, I added 3/4 pound of baby carrots and another large white onion (sliced). After about another hour, I noticed the roast was falling apart, so I took it out and covered it with foil while everything else cooked another 2 hours. Then I drained off the liquid and let it separate (because my roast was so fatty). I skimmed off as much of the fat and put the roast, carrots, and onions back in the pot, followed by the skimmed liquid and left it on warm until it was ready to serve. The roast was fork tender and full of flavor. I served it with rice, carrots, and onions. I look forward to eating the leftovers. I will make this again! Thanks for sharing, Marie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
We absolutely loved this! Following helpful advice of others, I browned in garlic olive oil. Used also plenty of garlic powder and minced fresh garlic. Used 2 cans beef broth, onion soup mix, baby carrots, and mushrooms. We served with oven roasted seasoned fingerling potatoes. Yum!! Thanks for the awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
This was wonderful! Great taste and so easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by staklc1979
Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Meat was very tender. Next time, add more Montreal seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
This was delicious. My boyfriend and I ate almost the whole thing at one meal. I used a one and a half pound chuck roast. I kept all the other ingredients the same, so there was leftover sauce, which was fine with me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 1,200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States