Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Good basic dish...just what I was looking for. I used a two pound chuck roast; you will still need to use one cup of water if you want to make gravy (I didn't want gravy). The liquid was very oily but that's to be expected from this cut of meat. I cut two russets in half and placed atop the meat...they came out perfect for us: Not soaked through with 'juices' nor falling apart. Very tender and tastes just as you'd expect: Meat and vegetables :-) I used Wylers Mrs. Grass onion soup mix. To me Lipton is too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HIJIMMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I cooked for 12 hours and was awesome but did not cut carrots and potatoes too small..kept them halved and carrots could have been left whole and the large type
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
I've used this recipe as my starting point multiple times! The first time I made it, I didn't have any onion soup mix. I had Pioneer Brand brown gravy mix, though. So I let it cook for eight hours, popped in my can of sliced carrots and mixed in two packages of the brown gravy mix instead for the last hour of cooking. It was amazing! It's my Fiancé's favorite dish. Thank you so much for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
This was so good moist and east to make Easy prep followed the directions set it and forget it. I was almost scared it would come out too salty since the video added lots of salt and dry onion soup mix but it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
This is the 2nd time I am making this. The first time I used a rump roast because that's what I pulled out of my freezer. It was very good, but I'm anxious to see how the chuck roast tastes. I followed the basic recipe but added some of the suggested seasonings. This time I added fresh mushrooms instead of potatoes and will be serving over garlic mashed. This is an excellent and easy recipe. Thank you Marie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOYVIV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbridge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bayville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Used 2 cups of water instead of 1. Added minced garlic, a couple more potatoes, and a whole bunch of baby carrots. Also added some garlic seasoning. Came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
This is perfect. The only small change I made was instead of a packet of plain onion soup, I used Lipton's beefy onion. Super perfect and super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Croton Cher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
This was the best roast I've ever made!! It was super moist and juicy. I used a mostly frozen chuck roast that'd been in the freezer for 1 year and 7 months (I'd even almost thrown it out because of the discoloration). I thawed it in the fridge over night, then put it in the slow cooker for about 5 hours on high, then low for an additional 3. It was succulent. Thank you for the delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
This pot roast was delicious. We made it according to the recipe, and would only change 2 things: it needs more liquid - beef broth? - and it needs salt. Other than that, perfect! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Absolutely delicious! I added half a container of mushrooms, extra carrots and red potatoes and to top it off a few tablespoons of worchestire sauce...will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica Sismondo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States