Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
This was amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I followed some on the tips from others like using beef broth instead of water (although I had to use half beef and half chicken cause that's what I had =D). Other than that I followed the recipe. It was soooooooooooooo good. Super tender and made for great leftovers for lunch =).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
We loved it ,even my mother-in law ate every bite and she is picky, lol:)!I added two cans of beef broth instead of water,more carrots,cooked the potatoes on the side(small crockpot)and added flour and water about an hour before serving and came out with a great gravy.Seasoned to taste w a dash of worschesterchire.Go to for an easy pot roast.Seven happy campers,but it was barely enough!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yvette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodway, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
This was GREAT! I followed the directions exactly and it turned out delicious. The only thing I might change for the next time is to buy pearl onions and baby potatoes, instead of having to chop the larger varieties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
super easy and tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I definitely like the addition of the onion soup mix. Must remember this...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Ok, my 2cents...add a can (14.5 oz) of chopped tomatoes on top of the soup mix. I omitted the potatoes and the celery and put the veggies on the bottom of the crock, then the meat. I also shook some garlic powder on top of them. I serve it with egg noodles that have been tossed with butter browned bread crumbs. I can eat the whole pot myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
I've used this recipe many, many times, but have made several changes to it. I like to coat a couple of sides of the roast with Grillmates steak seasoning (very peppery and has salt), and I also splash some worcestershire sauce on it the night before and stick it in the fridge. The next morning, I sear the sides on the pan (with a little olive oil). I also use beef broth (or chicken broth, whichever I happen to have at home) instead of water. I also use small red potatoes and put them in whole. I cut all of my veggies in large chunks (onion is quartered, carrots in large chunks, etc.) For herbs/seasoning, I also add some thyme and rosemary and 4-6 cloves of minced garlic. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
I have made this twice so bar and it turned out great! Thanks for this great work day recipe! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
This is an absolute FAVORITE pot roast recipe--with a few modifications. The meat is always ridiculously tender, full of flavor, and tastes amazing! The changes we made are pretty simple-- I use 1 or 2 cans of beef broth instead of the 1c water (depending on the size of roast, 3.5lbs+ 2 cans, less than 3lbs 1can) I season the meat with either a montreal steak seasoning or some other seasonings we have handy (garlic salt, onion powder, pepper, maybe some paprika, whatever) and then sear in either a small amount of balsamic vinegar or olive oil. I like lots of vegetables so we double the vegetables and add half at the beginning (mushy vegetables as a result) but the other half a few hours before the end so they are cooked but not mushy (this is why i add the extra broth since i have lots of extra veggies). I have also used the beefy onion dry soup mix a few times but really couldn't tell much difference between normal onion soup mix--so i use whatever is on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
This turned out nice. Only change I made (as suggested by others) was to use beef broth instead of water. Used some of the liquid at the end to make gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by manitoban

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States