Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
Ha! my name is Marie and this is the way I do roasts. only thing I have started doing different is I use V8 juice instead of water. I think it gives extra flavor and tenderizes. I usually cook a smaller roast as I am cooking for 2, therefore it doesn't take that long to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
No I did not try this recipe. I make my pot roast in the crockpot with a package of onion soup mix and a can of coke and it is very moist and the taste is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
I have made pot roasts this way for over 40 years. The dry onion soup mix and beef broth add great flavor, especially when the veggies absorb some of that flavor. I go lightly on the salt when browning, but use pepper and garlic powder liberally. As shown in the video, it adds a crust to the browned roast and that, in my opinion, makes the roast more tasty. Like many others, I also make gravy from the liquid. This is a no-fail recipe! The only thing I do that's different is to eliminate the celery, which tends to make the whole thing taste a bit like beef stew, which always has celery. For me, the time to make stew is with the leftovers, all of which goes into the pot, and that's when I add the celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Olalla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
Be sure to read the contents of the soup mix! Most, if not all, contain MSG. If you're sensitive to MSG this could be trouble. I had to learn the hard way! Making your own onion base for this is not difficult but then you already have a terrific dinner with a salad and bread. Doing this on a weekend with your own onion soup would be a real treat and keeps the smells teasing throughout the day................
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wildbill

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
This is my go-to pot roast recipe. Always perfect. Only change I make is to add a little corn starch and water mixture at the end to thicken up the gravy - its delicious with noodles then. Also, instead of adding water, I vary and use either wine, beer, or beef broth like the video says. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
Add one can of cream of mushroom soup (undiluted) This is a 4 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Delores Bray

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
Why do you give it 5 stars if you haven't even made it yet? (In order to submit this I had to rate it)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Port, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
It sounds great but I haven't tried it yet, my big question is what size slow cooker should I use?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Lakeside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
Marie, my mom used to make this exact recipe but in a dutch oven on top of the stove, but used to make a gravy at the end with flour. It was always delicious and we ate every scrap. So, I know before making it that it is a 5 star recipe. Thank you for sharing something that has probably been passed down through your family for years. Bravo for a great recipe. I'm going to buy a chuck roast today!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
Great recipe! Have used it for years. You might want to add a can of cream of mushroom soup. Delicious and makes a perfect gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dunwoody, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,269) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States