Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Absolutely delicious! I added half a container of mushrooms, extra carrots and red potatoes and to top it off a few tablespoons of worchestire sauce...will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica Sismondo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
It was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martin Duran Jr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
This recipe was amazing and so very simple. I made a few adjustments to fit the ingredients I had on hand. I used beef broth instead of water, added carrots about 1/2 way through the 9 hrs the roast cooked. Right before serving I took about a cup of the juice from the crock pot and added 2 tablespoons of flour in a glass jar with a lid and shook the devil out of it. Then I added it back to the pot and it made the gravy a perfect consistency. I omitted the celery and was out of potatoes but I went and bought some during the day so I served the roast, carrots and gravy over mashed potatoes. Everything was a huge hit. My family loved it. I also served macaroni and cheese and green beans and my 7 & 5 year old boys told me it was "the best meal I ever made"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
The trouble with that onion soup mix is that it is chock full of MSG. We need to be able to create delicious recipes without the toxic additives, preservatives & colors. My mom used to make pot roast this way, and yeah, it's easy, but it also triggers migraines.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Tried it today with a few tweaks... Rubbed a 3.5 lbs roast with kosher salt, gd black pepper, dried thyme, rosemary and little bit of Lawry's season salt. Then, melted butter and added chopped fresh garlic in large frying pan until garlic was fragrant, and browned the roast on high heat for 4 min each side (just imagine the aroma... Yum!) Cut roast in half, transferred to heated crock pot, followed by larger chunks of chopped carrots, celery (no potatoes, served mashed potatoes on the side), and the packet of dried onion soup mix (which would experiment by leaving out next time). Then in the same pan for browning, added large chunks of chopped onion to sauté quickly, then deglazed with ~ 1/2C red wine, and poured it over the meat and veggies in the crock pot, added 1/2 C of water to pan (would use unsalted beef broth instead next time) to really get the last bits of the deglaze off the pan, and added to crock pot. With only less than 6 hours till dinner, put the crock pot on high heat for about 4 hours, stirred the pot and checked for doneness/tenderness with a knife, then changed to low heat for another 1.5-2 hours. Turned out pretty well given the reduction from 9 to 6 hrs of cooking in the crock pot. Will experiment with more tweaking on next try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
This came out so good. I put this to cook for my first day back at work. I used chopped potatoes, whole baby carrots and onion. my crockpot is a small one so I used a 2lb roast so I tried just half the seasoning packet and 1/2 cup of water but at 6 hours it wasn't seasoned enough I added the rest and another half cup of water and put it on low for another hours. I served it over rice with a pasta salad! My husband loved it so I am putting this in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mmmfranco

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Very good! Didn't have time to brown the meat before work, so in it went. Also realized too late that I was out of potatoes, so I used extra carrots and celery, bought potatoes on my way home, made gravy from the juices and served it all over mashed potatoes. Husband approved. I've been using Chef John's pot roast recipe, but this one is just as good and less fussy. Thanks, Marie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake Until Golden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
This was brilliant! I started on a Sunday morning and had it cooking by 10:00am. Went out for the day and it was ready when I got home at 6:00pm. And it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Stroud

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Delicious! Followed the recipe as is (but with a blade roast) and it was great. And very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Great recipe! I added the cup of water to the frying pan that I seared the roast in just to deglaze it. I also added a can of mushroom soup on top of the roast. Added a bay leaf and some fresh sprig of thyme , making an awesome gravy. Used 1/4 flour and 1/2 cup cold water to make a slurry to thicken the gravy. Will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States