Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
This is an excellent recipe, and it is perfect for me.If I put it on as I am walking out the door, it is perfect when I get home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockwood, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lancing, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
The way it is, this recipe is great. It is basic, and the meat is delicious. The carrot and celery cooked in with the meat add flavor to the liquid that will become gravy once thickened a little, and are an important part of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
Made EXACTLY as written. Easy for sure but tasteless. Meat was fall off bone tender and vegetables were perfectly done. Even with the onion soup, the remaining liquid had very little taste. Even doctored up with gravy master and my usual tricks, it made for a flat gravy. This recipe is a great starter for how to cook in SC, but not how to flavor. I will do it again next week with modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorraine Biggins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
Excellent! Used bottom boneless roast. Less fat but was so tender you cut it with a fork. Dillion's. Can make gravy with juice. Potatoes mushy- put in later or fix separate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
I don't rate a lot of recipes, but this was A+! I omitted the raw onion (personal issues) and upped other veggies. It's a perfect recipe, the veggies turn out so flavorful. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
I have made this recipe many times. As many have stated it is a very good basic recipe which can be tweaked to individual taste. I always read the reviews to get more ideas of how to make the dish. Anyhow, I tweaked it to my taste and would like to share my variations. I used a 5 lb roast, and 10 qt crock pot. I browned roast as described and placed in crock pot. I omitted the Onion soup mix (just this time, because I wanted to try something new). Add a large chopped onion, several cloves of garlic, coarsely chopped, & a generous handful fresh parsley, chopped. Add 1.5 c. water & 1-2 beef boullion cubes and 2 bay leaves. Shake or sprinkle over roast 2 TBSP each of the following: Red wine vinegar, Worcestershire, soy sauce, brown sugar. Sprinkle 1 TBSP smoked paprika, 1 tsp. each of dried oregano, garlic powder and onion powder & 1/2 tsp dried thyme. Cover and cook on low 5 hours. Add vegetables: Remove meat and set aside. Add 5-6 unpeeled red potatoes, chopped into large cubes, 1 lb baby carrots, 1 lb fresh Brussels sprouts & 8 oz. fresh sliced baby Bella or white mushrooms. Toss to coat with liquid in crock pot. Place roast on top of vegetables, cover and cook another 4 hours or more. Serve with biscuits or sourdough bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mkile25
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
Great, easy, yummy crockpot recipe! I was looking for something hearty, quick, and a full meal and this was it ! I decided to add Brussels sprouts and a cubed sweet potato. I also took other suggestions and used beef broth instead of water. I only had 6 hours until dinner so I cooked the meat on high by itself for 1 1/2 hours, added veggis and cooked in low for the remaining 4 1/2 hours and it turned out great !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Loved it! Added mushrooms half way through. Didn't have onion soup mix so used vegetable soup mix and added onion powder. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Everytime I make pot roast I cook it exactly this way. Everyone in my family really likes it & it is so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
So tasty! Turns out perfect every time! I like using red potatoes instead of russet, and those don't get overcooked. Or sometimes I just leave the potatoes out and make mashed potatoes instead. Just use half a packet of the mix. One is too much! I use beef broth instead of water if I have it, I like it much more that way. Don't use broth and a whole packet- it will be way too salty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States