Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
I don't rate a lot of recipes, but this was A+! I omitted the raw onion (personal issues) and upped other veggies. It's a perfect recipe, the veggies turn out so flavorful. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
I have made this recipe many times. As many have stated it is a very good basic recipe which can be tweaked to individual taste. I always read the reviews to get more ideas of how to make the dish. Anyhow, I tweaked it to my taste and would like to share my variations. I used a 5 lb roast, and 10 qt crock pot. I browned roast as described and placed in crock pot. I omitted the Onion soup mix (just this time, because I wanted to try something new). Add a large chopped onion, several cloves of garlic, coarsely chopped, & a generous handful fresh parsley, chopped. Add 1.5 c. water & 1-2 beef boullion cubes and 2 bay leaves. Shake or sprinkle over roast 2 TBSP each of the following: Red wine vinegar, Worcestershire, soy sauce, brown sugar. Sprinkle 1 TBSP smoked paprika, 1 tsp. each of dried oregano, garlic powder and onion powder & 1/2 tsp dried thyme. Cover and cook on low 5 hours. Add vegetables: Remove meat and set aside. Add 5-6 unpeeled red potatoes, chopped into large cubes, 1 lb baby carrots, 1 lb fresh Brussels sprouts & 8 oz. fresh sliced baby Bella or white mushrooms. Toss to coat with liquid in crock pot. Place roast on top of vegetables, cover and cook another 4 hours or more. Serve with biscuits or sourdough bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mkile25
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
Great, easy, yummy crockpot recipe! I was looking for something hearty, quick, and a full meal and this was it ! I decided to add Brussels sprouts and a cubed sweet potato. I also took other suggestions and used beef broth instead of water. I only had 6 hours until dinner so I cooked the meat on high by itself for 1 1/2 hours, added veggis and cooked in low for the remaining 4 1/2 hours and it turned out great !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Loved it! Added mushrooms half way through. Didn't have onion soup mix so used vegetable soup mix and added onion powder. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Everytime I make pot roast I cook it exactly this way. Everyone in my family really likes it & it is so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
So tasty! Turns out perfect every time! I like using red potatoes instead of russet, and those don't get overcooked. Or sometimes I just leave the potatoes out and make mashed potatoes instead. Just use half a packet of the mix. One is too much! I use beef broth instead of water if I have it, I like it much more that way. Don't use broth and a whole packet- it will be way too salty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Chuck Meat is da bomb. This recipe is very simple with superior results. Thrown together on a Friday night right before bed. Used Beef broth vs water was my only change. I browned my seasoned meat all sides. Added in some extra minced garlic to the crock pot since I love garlic. Coarse cut about 1-1/2 pd carrot and red potatoes into about 3/4-1" cuts to toss in about 2 am (Mid-way thru cutting time). Perfect veggies & meat. With clean up and prep I would guesstimate 1 hr. Not bad at all considering the servings u can get.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Followed to the T and was disappointed. Meat was tender, but beyond bland. Lacked a considerable amount of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Tried it following receipe with no changes - awesome!!! The smell of the house alone while cooking makes you start Salivating- melts in your mouth good- so much for Trying not to eat red meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Great recipe! Made two batches in two crock pots for a family dinner of 10. After the meat was in the crock pot and cooking, I prepared the vegetables and then put them in the crock pot. Everything turned out great and wasn't over cocked. I added extra portions of vegetables to fill up the crock pots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,242) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States