Marie-Claude's Orange Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
This recipe is good, try it, but IT MAKES A 9"x9" CAKE, NOT a 9"x13" one. At least, I can't imagine how so little batter could have made the larger cake. Beyond that though, this was great - moist, very orangey, a nice colour. After the juice soaked in (15 mins or so), I topped the cake with store-bought chocolate icing. That was a good choice - the combination tasted like those chocolate oranges you get at Christmas. I made it for Halloween.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Very good. I used blueberry yogurt and lemon zest and juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
Great cake. A smaller pan works best. For a different cake, try Meyer's Lemons with this instead of oranges. Delicious. Like others, whipping cream makes a great serve along. After whipping, add just a tad orange zest to the the cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2005
This cake really is easy. I was doubtful about all that juice sitting on top of the cake, but the cake is dense and it does not get too mushy with the juice. I served this with whipped cream and little clementine sections on top. It probably would also work with canned mandarin oranges. The juiciness of the oranges on top, and the moisture of the whipped cream, together with the flavorfulness of the cake, made this a very good dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
Moist and flavorful gourmet-type cake that is easy to make. It became a fast favorite in my household
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Thanks to the other reviews, I used an 8 inch square pan. It baked for the same time specified in the recipe, 30 minutes, and turned out perfect and delicious. I made it twice in one day! I had large home grown oranges which produced a lot of juice, so I poured the juice from one right into the batter. I whisked a small amount of powdered sugar into the remaining orange juice before poking holes in the cake and spooning the juice over. Spoon a little at a time and you can tell when the cake is saturated. No mushiness at all. It tasted the best while still slightly warm but was fine the next day too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Very Moist. Great cake that is very fast and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
Good flavor, but the juice didn't soak all the way into the cake, so the bottom was soggy. I used a 9x9 square pan, and it took about 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by zbf
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
Very light, healthy, and delicious. Will definitely do again and again. two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zbf

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Good flavor and texture, but this does not belong in a 9x13 pan . . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States