Marie-Claude's Orange Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 5, 2008
Good cake topped with a TB or so of whipped cream if you wish to add creamy sweetness. However, there must be a mistake in the pan size. I baked it in a smaller pan than the 9X13. You'll see why when you see the batter. It's a healthier alternative to some other cakes as there's no salt and no sugar topping, just pure orange juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lenihan5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
Good flavor, but the juice didn't soak all the way into the cake, so the bottom was soggy. I used a 9x9 square pan, and it took about 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
Great cake. A smaller pan works best. For a different cake, try Meyer's Lemons with this instead of oranges. Delicious. Like others, whipping cream makes a great serve along. After whipping, add just a tad orange zest to the the cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
Cook for 25 minutes. Really needs a glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Cornick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by zbf
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
Very light, healthy, and delicious. Will definitely do again and again. two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zbf

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
This recipe is good, try it, but IT MAKES A 9"x9" CAKE, NOT a 9"x13" one. At least, I can't imagine how so little batter could have made the larger cake. Beyond that though, this was great - moist, very orangey, a nice colour. After the juice soaked in (15 mins or so), I topped the cake with store-bought chocolate icing. That was a good choice - the combination tasted like those chocolate oranges you get at Christmas. I made it for Halloween.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2005
Quick and easy to prepare with a nice orange flavor however I found it dries out very quickly so this cake is probably at its best if served as a dessert, with whipped cream etc., right after baking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2005
This cake really is easy. I was doubtful about all that juice sitting on top of the cake, but the cake is dense and it does not get too mushy with the juice. I served this with whipped cream and little clementine sections on top. It probably would also work with canned mandarin oranges. The juiciness of the oranges on top, and the moisture of the whipped cream, together with the flavorfulness of the cake, made this a very good dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
This was one of my favorite recipies ever. I LOVED it as an after dinner dessert with my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-19 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States