Maria's Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
I make this a lot. The only change I make is instead of the onion soup I use a pack of Lipton's Onion soup mix. (I add one can of water) Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pacific, Missouri, USA
Living In: Union, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
I got so many compliments on and requests for this recipe! I used half the amount of butter called for, low sodium broth, added some sauteed mushrooms and used half brown rice. Also, when it was time to remove the foil, I stirred everything again. It was delicious - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stylistmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2008
BRAVO!!! So simple to make and with such delicious results! I love it... mix it all in a pan and forget about it. It sounded too simple to be good, but I was wrong to think that. I used 1 can of Campbell's French Onion Soup and 1 can of low sodium beef broth. (There's plenty of sodium already from the Campbell's soup!) When I took the foil off for the last 30 minutes of baking, I added a cup of frozen peas and some chopped scallions. It was perfect. Not too watery and not sticky; just the exact right texture. This was WAY easier than my other fried rice recipes, and just as tasty! I will be making this one again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Ridgeway

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2002
The first time I prepared this dish I found the taste to be a little flat. So, the next time I made it I replaced the can of beef broth with a can of beef consome, and added a small can of mushrooms and a finely chopped onion. It turned out much better.. enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
Really great rice recipe. I used Onion soup mix and added 1 cup of water instead of using the can of condensed French Onion Soup because I didn't have any. I also added mushrooms like others suggested. Yummy and really easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chickenlilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: New Braunfels, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
Delicious, even without changing a thing! This is an easy side dish that can really dress up a "plain meat" meal. Be sure to cover it tightly and for the full 30 minutes (or more) or you could get crunchy rice (which happened to me the first time I made it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2004
This is one of the best recipes I've ever made. I followed the instructions completely, except I only put it in for fifty minutes. Even then it was REALLY burnt on top and the sides. I think 35-40 minutes is more than enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Made this rice for dinner, we liked the flavor. I used one package of Lipton's dry Onion Soup, one can of Campbell's Beef Consume, one can of water, and one cup of dry white long grain rice. I used the full 1/2 cup of butter but it ended up being much too oily for us. I will try using only 2 tablespoons of butter next time. I will also follow another reviewer's idea & add a cup of peas next time, maybe some fresh mushrooms, & some green onions chopped up & sprinkled on top. Maybe a bit of garlic powder too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2001
This is the absolute best rice dish ever. If you like french onion soup, you will love this. Give it a try, you will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
YUM! I Made this for a get together for my twin sons 14 year old birthday OMG Huge hit!!!!!!!!!!!! Also my 10,7 ( two seven year olds lol i got three sets of twins),4 ( two 4 year olds , they are twins), And 1 year old Loved this. It was great! Making this again next year! LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States