Maria's Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
This was very nice and easy. I used onion soup mix, beef boullion, and 20 oz of water instead of the canned soup and broth. (I try not to buy too much water weight when I grocery shop. EcoFriendly.) I also added some mushrooms I had sitting around. Very good, my family enjoyed it and I'm sure I will make it again whenever I need something fast. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dreamer727

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annandale, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Cokato, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Loved this recipe! My family loves rice but we get tired of plain rice or fried rice. This was a wonderful combination of flavors. Next time, though, I think I'll back the butter content to 1/4 cup. It was a little greasy for my tastes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
This was okay. Cooking it in the oven was not the best method in my opinion. I cooked it in the oven and then also cooked it in a rice cooker. The rice cooker rice faired a-lot better. Cooking it in the oven didn't really cook the rice well for me. It was still hard. I also agree with other reviewers, the measurements are off. Beef Broth comes in a 14.5oz can so you have to adjust all the other ingredients accordingly. Finally, I would recommend adding mushrooms or green onions to enhance the flavor. This was just okay for us. I've made it twice now and it is just okay. Not sure if it is worth making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
Like megin480, pretty good, more like 4-5 servings. I cut the butter in half, and could even cut that amount in half. Although butter almost always makes everything taste better, a little too greasy for my taste. Also, my beef broth comes in 14.5 oz cans, not 10 oz., and I only had dry onion soup mix, so I added 6 ounces water with the broth and mix. Could've gone to 4 ounces, would've been fine. An easy side dish that the family loved. I'd make it again and maybe try to find a way to jazz it up a little more next time (mushrooms, more onions, etc.) Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
Pretty good. Followed recipe and next time would maybe add some mushrooms or some Gruyere cheese at the end. After removing the cover it started to get dry and edges got crunchy so I added some more broth and recovered for the rest of the cooking time. And, I would say it serves 4-5 people. Double if you have more than 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
This was delicious rice. As many others have suggested, next time I am going to try it with half the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
The first time I made this I did it exactly as instructed and it was really good. The second time, I just put everything in my rice cooker (used onion soup mix plus 1 cup water, 1 cup beef broth, 1 cup rice) and left out the butter. It turned out great that way too plus was less effort and took less time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
This rice is so yummy!! It's moist, flavorful, and best of all, easy to make. I used half the amount of butter called for and it was still delicious. This will be a regular side dish for me from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA
Living In: Canoga Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
ABSOLUTLEY fantastic! I am quite the rice fanatic and I am in love with this recipe, however i did as well substitue the condensed French onion soup for Lipton Onion soup mix and 1 cup of water. It was the first time I made it, so I'm not surprised that the rice turned out a little crunchy. Next time I will be sure to use the right amount of water. Made with Garlic Cheddar Chicken, but found the meal too heavy altogether. Best served ALONE! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by samanthaa*

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
Wonderful! Made according to recipe except cooked under lid entire time. ***I made this at a later time and substituted chicken broth for the beef broth. It was still good, just not as rich and flavorful. ***Made another time and browned pork chops first, then added to the rice dish, and baked app. 50 minutes under foil. I totally omitted the butter. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Persian Rice

See how to make an actual foolproof method for cooking perfect rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States