Maria's Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
I used a Lipton onion soup package too. My kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LyLLaNe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Just OK. Made with a packet of instant onion soup mix and 1 c water. Also used a cube of beef bouillion and a cup of water as I didn't have a can. When I removed the cover at 30 minutes, it was scorching to the dish, dry as can be and the edges were very dark. So I added a little water and checked on it often. Turned out to be good tasting mushy mushy rice. Like a paste. Maybe because I added water, but it would have been burned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sbruins79

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waupun, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Very easy and quick to make!! It's a regular in our house now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Excellent! Added some carrots tasted just like rice-a-roni! Didn't have can condensed French onion soup took another reviewers tip & used 1 pkg dry onion soup mixed in 1 cup of water. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Britain, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
This rice is really great. Tastes a little like rice-a-roni :) We enjoyed this recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
This was very nice and easy. I used onion soup mix, beef boullion, and 20 oz of water instead of the canned soup and broth. (I try not to buy too much water weight when I grocery shop. EcoFriendly.) I also added some mushrooms I had sitting around. Very good, my family enjoyed it and I'm sure I will make it again whenever I need something fast. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dreamer727

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annandale, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Cokato, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Loved this recipe! My family loves rice but we get tired of plain rice or fried rice. This was a wonderful combination of flavors. Next time, though, I think I'll back the butter content to 1/4 cup. It was a little greasy for my tastes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
This was okay. Cooking it in the oven was not the best method in my opinion. I cooked it in the oven and then also cooked it in a rice cooker. The rice cooker rice faired a-lot better. Cooking it in the oven didn't really cook the rice well for me. It was still hard. I also agree with other reviewers, the measurements are off. Beef Broth comes in a 14.5oz can so you have to adjust all the other ingredients accordingly. Finally, I would recommend adding mushrooms or green onions to enhance the flavor. This was just okay for us. I've made it twice now and it is just okay. Not sure if it is worth making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
Like megin480, pretty good, more like 4-5 servings. I cut the butter in half, and could even cut that amount in half. Although butter almost always makes everything taste better, a little too greasy for my taste. Also, my beef broth comes in 14.5 oz cans, not 10 oz., and I only had dry onion soup mix, so I added 6 ounces water with the broth and mix. Could've gone to 4 ounces, would've been fine. An easy side dish that the family loved. I'd make it again and maybe try to find a way to jazz it up a little more next time (mushrooms, more onions, etc.) Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
Pretty good. Followed recipe and next time would maybe add some mushrooms or some Gruyere cheese at the end. After removing the cover it started to get dry and edges got crunchy so I added some more broth and recovered for the rest of the cooking time. And, I would say it serves 4-5 people. Double if you have more than 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Spicy Spanish-Style Rice

See how to make spicy Spanish-style rice, a terrific all-purpose side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States