Maria's Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
a great easy, go to recipe... even my husband can cook this! I use low sodium beef broth and use half the amount of butter called for. Comes our wonderfully everytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
In my house we eat rice everyday, my husband he's Puerto Rican and he can eat plain white rice, but me im Southern andI need a little more flavor in my life. This recipe was FAST and EASY!!! I wish there were more fast, simple, and easy rice dishes! I added some of my own spices but this recipe is perfect the way it is! I'm making it again right now as we speak!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Wonderful recipe! I didn't have the condensed can onion soup or the packets of dry soup on hand so I made my own substitution for the packet. I also wanted a 9x13 size for our large family so I doubled the rice amount totaling 2 cups of uncooked rice, added 2 cans of beef broth (mine were each 14 oz) Then for the onion soup substitute I mixed aside the following (this equals 2 packets worth): 5 tablespoon + 1 teaspoon dried onion flakes 3 teaspoons dried parsley 2 teaspoon onion powder 1 teaspoon celery seed 1 teaspoon salt 1 teaspoon sugar 1/2 teaspoon ground pepper I sprinkled this over the 9x13 rice mixture and added 1 more can of water. Then I took 1/2 cup butter (didn't double this) and cut slices over top. Baked for the same amount of time as listed. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura F.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
So easy and flavorful!! Will make again..and again...and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
I attempted to make this and then put it in the crockpot for dinner. Not a good idea, it came out really mushy. Otherwise it tasted good when it first came out of the oven. My friend has the same recipe but uses dry onion soup mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
The flavor was great. My rice was still hard after one and a half hours. My rice never cooked . I will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myboysmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Key West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
I tried it the original way & then tried it with the dry onion soup reconstituted. Dry soup will work, but original is simply the best way. I don't know that I will make it with dry soup again unless I'm desperate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lugoff, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
I used Lipton French onion and a can of beef broth instead of the water. Did it in the microwave and it turned out very very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
This is fantastic!!! I substituted Campbell's Beefy Mushroom Condensed Soup (couldn't find French Onion) and added a can of mushrooms and some diced onions. For the last 15minutes in the oven, I stirred in some sueteed beef cubes with onions and green peppers and it turned out phenomenal!! My kids loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
Its okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Spicy Spanish-Style Rice

See how to make spicy Spanish-style rice, a terrific all-purpose side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States