Maria's Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
I use the same thing but I use non meat based broth which is also fat free and only a table spoon of butter. I also add assorted veggies after the first 30min. Mushrooms, bell pepper, green peas. Very good side to any salty dish, or meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
This was a good recipe taste wise, but next time I'll have to try it with white rice instead of brown. I suggest if you use brown rice to cook it before you follow this recipe because mine didn't cook before soaking up all the fluid. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arlie Lambert

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I think this was very good. However, WAY TOO MUCH BUTTER! I used white sticky rice, cream of mushroom soup with garlic and beef broth. I will make it again, but with 1/2 or less of the butter! I should have went with my gut feeling when making it, I knew it would be too much butter! Also, I cooked it for about 30 mins covered and about 12 mins without foil and some of it was burnt on the bottom of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Nelson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madera, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
A very good, simple recipe. I will definitely be making this again. The only problem I had was that the top layer of rice got well done and the edges were crispy. I didn't see anyone else mention a problem with the cooking time, so I may have to check my oven temp or it could possibly be the cook. :) I might try lowering the temp to 400 next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melrose Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Vernon Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
a great easy, go to recipe... even my husband can cook this! I use low sodium beef broth and use half the amount of butter called for. Comes our wonderfully everytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
In my house we eat rice everyday, my husband he's Puerto Rican and he can eat plain white rice, but me im Southern andI need a little more flavor in my life. This recipe was FAST and EASY!!! I wish there were more fast, simple, and easy rice dishes! I added some of my own spices but this recipe is perfect the way it is! I'm making it again right now as we speak!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Wonderful recipe! I didn't have the condensed can onion soup or the packets of dry soup on hand so I made my own substitution for the packet. I also wanted a 9x13 size for our large family so I doubled the rice amount totaling 2 cups of uncooked rice, added 2 cans of beef broth (mine were each 14 oz) Then for the onion soup substitute I mixed aside the following (this equals 2 packets worth): 5 tablespoon + 1 teaspoon dried onion flakes 3 teaspoons dried parsley 2 teaspoon onion powder 1 teaspoon celery seed 1 teaspoon salt 1 teaspoon sugar 1/2 teaspoon ground pepper I sprinkled this over the 9x13 rice mixture and added 1 more can of water. Then I took 1/2 cup butter (didn't double this) and cut slices over top. Baked for the same amount of time as listed. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura F.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
So easy and flavorful!! Will make again..and again...and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
I attempted to make this and then put it in the crockpot for dinner. Not a good idea, it came out really mushy. Otherwise it tasted good when it first came out of the oven. My friend has the same recipe but uses dry onion soup mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
The flavor was great. My rice was still hard after one and a half hours. My rice never cooked . I will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myboysmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Key West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Persian Rice

See how to make an actual foolproof method for cooking perfect rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States