Maria's Portuguese Bacalau Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Fancy Pants
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
OH MY GOSH! This was unreal! I followed the recipe exactly except I omitted the chopped eggs and olives for garnish. The real name for this recipe is actually 'Bacalhau à Gomes de Sá'. I am Portuguese (my entire family was born and raised in Portugal) and when I told my mom I was making this dish she got so excited! She told me she hadn't had it since she lived in Portugual over 42 years ago! This dish was soooo incredible and tasted so much like something that my Portuguese family would make. Thank you so so much for posting this delicious, authentic recipe, BINGADING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Okanagan, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
Delicious! I used fresh cod instead of salted, and added salt. My wife, she is Portuguese, loved this recipe. I will be making it for her as often as she will like. Thank you for sharing it with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
Out of all the recipes I've seen on the internet, yours was the only true one that had the black olives which is always used in this dish in the Azores. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
I'm so glad I tried this recipe. By far, one of the best I've found on allrecipes.com. I had to make a few changes based on what I had in the house. I used fresh cod and boiled it in heavily salted water, and added some salt to the parsley/olive oil mixture. I also used red potatoes since that's what I had on hand. I followed the rest of the recipe as-is. The flavors were absolutely outstanding. I love that it's so healthy, too. I *never* go back for seconds on dinner, but I did with this one. My husband said he could survive on this dish alone. It's honestly so good, I almost felt guilty taking credit for it! Thanks for contributing this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
Where is the cheese in this recipe? What kind? how much?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
Mmmm tastes like tradition! Personally I find the dried, store bought bacalau tougher/chewier in this dish. Therefore I use (heavily salted) fresh cod instead of dried bacalau. Also, I sliced the potatoes prior to boiling them. The way I see it … slicing raw potatoes is easier than slicing potatoes that are mostly cooked. My father-in-law is from the Azores Islands and he LOVES this dish! Looks like I’ll be making this dish often instead of the in-laws ordering it from the European catering place down the street. This is a keeper!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liana

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
I made this for my husband's Portuguese family and they all said that it tasted better than any other Bacalau recipe they have ever had. They couldn't believe how good it was! Thank you for an awesome recipe. There wasn't any left after the party! The only things I changed: I used 5 potatoes instead of 4 and double the onions from 2 to 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hooksett, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Quincy, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
I made this for my parents who are both from Lisbon, Portugal...and boy did I impress them! Thank you so much! As another reviewer mentioned, my parents said this dish is traditionally called Bacalhau à Gomes de Sá. This is a keeper and I'll be making years to come, especially for family gatherings. Thank you again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
This was the best dish I have ever had. I'm Portuguese but don't even know the name for this dish. I've had it before, but this is by far the best and the most delicous. We will definitely be making this over and over, please share more of your delicious Portuguese recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
Good job on this recipe. My Italian family really liked it and so did I. I used exact measurements of everything and prepared with only one exception- I soaked the cod in the frig for 4 days changing the water every day. Next time I'll cut down on the olive oil, but everything else do just the same as I did today. Very nice diversion for Friday's fish dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Fisherman's Pie

This simple seafood casserole is topped with mashed potatoes.

Maria's Broccoli Rabe

This easy, delicious vegetable side dish goes with practically anything.

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States