Maria's Portuguese Bacalau Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
This was my family's first time tasting salt cod. I followed the recipe to the letter and we enjoyed it very much and look forward to having it again. Thanks for your contribution!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
Excellent dish. We had leftovers and turned it into a fish chowder that was probably the best I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I made this for a farewell dinner for a friend who was moving to Portugal. He writes that he had the same thing in Portugal, but this was better. Interesting, different, and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANLAURA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Vestal, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fancy Pants
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
OH MY GOSH! This was unreal! I followed the recipe exactly except I omitted the chopped eggs and olives for garnish. The real name for this recipe is actually 'Bacalhau à Gomes de Sá'. I am Portuguese (my entire family was born and raised in Portugal) and when I told my mom I was making this dish she got so excited! She told me she hadn't had it since she lived in Portugual over 42 years ago! This dish was soooo incredible and tasted so much like something that my Portuguese family would make. Thank you so so much for posting this delicious, authentic recipe, BINGADING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Okanagan, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
I substituted the cod for pollock, and everyone still loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
Where is the cheese in this recipe? What kind? how much?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
Thank you for the recipe. I made this last month and became my husband's lunch for one week with steamed rice. Now he requested it again. Good for me to prepare one week meal for him in advance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mai

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
The photo looks like a casserole smothered in cheese but I don't see cheese mentioned in the recipe or reviews. Should I be adding cheese before serving? Edit: Ok, I see where threebyfiver mentions adding cheese. I made the recipe but have not yet put it into the oven - already I'm amazed at the flavor the combination of ingredients creates! I think I will add some cheese and broil it a little before serving. Also, my carmelized onions reduced so much that next time I'll slice 4 instead of 2. Mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marybee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Bridgewater, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
It was a hit! Served it with jasmine white rice. My husband loved how creamy it came out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Floripa5548

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
Wow, what an interesting combination. I was amazed that something so complex could taste so simple (in a good way). We ended up using cilantro instead of parsley. We LOVED it. Next time we will try less red pepper, less onion, more cheese (we added cheese). This is a GREAT fish dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ThreebyFiver

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Fisherman's Pie

This simple seafood casserole is topped with mashed potatoes.

Maria's Broccoli Rabe

This easy, delicious vegetable side dish goes with practically anything.

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States