Maria's Portuguese Bacalau Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
Good job on this recipe. My Italian family really liked it and so did I. I used exact measurements of everything and prepared with only one exception- I soaked the cod in the frig for 4 days changing the water every day. Next time I'll cut down on the olive oil, but everything else do just the same as I did today. Very nice diversion for Friday's fish dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
I'm so glad I tried this recipe. By far, one of the best I've found on allrecipes.com. I had to make a few changes based on what I had in the house. I used fresh cod and boiled it in heavily salted water, and added some salt to the parsley/olive oil mixture. I also used red potatoes since that's what I had on hand. I followed the rest of the recipe as-is. The flavors were absolutely outstanding. I love that it's so healthy, too. I *never* go back for seconds on dinner, but I did with this one. My husband said he could survive on this dish alone. It's honestly so good, I almost felt guilty taking credit for it! Thanks for contributing this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
I made this for my parents who are both from Lisbon, Portugal...and boy did I impress them! Thank you so much! As another reviewer mentioned, my parents said this dish is traditionally called Bacalhau à Gomes de Sá. This is a keeper and I'll be making years to come, especially for family gatherings. Thank you again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
Mmmm tastes like tradition! Personally I find the dried, store bought bacalau tougher/chewier in this dish. Therefore I use (heavily salted) fresh cod instead of dried bacalau. Also, I sliced the potatoes prior to boiling them. The way I see it … slicing raw potatoes is easier than slicing potatoes that are mostly cooked. My father-in-law is from the Azores Islands and he LOVES this dish! Looks like I’ll be making this dish often instead of the in-laws ordering it from the European catering place down the street. This is a keeper!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liana

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hilmar, California, USA
Living In: Oakdale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
Awesome! Better than my mother-in-laws and she's straight from Portugal and has been making it for 50 years! Next time I will omit the parsley on top though...it was a bit much for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
My family and I loved this recipe. I used thawed cod fish boiled in salted water then used that water to cook the potatoes. Have made this numerous times! Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I really should not rate this recipe since I used fresh cod fish and just added salt to it before I boiled it (after reading the other rave reviews I think mine did not turn out as good as it could have been). But...I am giving it 5 stars because my non fish eating husband really liked it. I was amazed. I look forward to trying it with the salted cod.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
This was my family's first time tasting salt cod. I followed the recipe to the letter and we enjoyed it very much and look forward to having it again. Thanks for your contribution!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
Excellent dish. We had leftovers and turned it into a fish chowder that was probably the best I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Fisherman's Pie

This simple seafood casserole is topped with mashed potatoes.

Maria's Broccoli Rabe

This easy, delicious vegetable side dish goes with practically anything.

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States