Maria's Paella Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Wow, was this delicious! I made a few alterations - a friend who lived in Spain said you can substitue turmeric for the saffron without much taste difference and it worked great. I also had a bag of frozen paella seafood mix from Sam's Club - so I just guesstimated the amount needed. Use chicken breast chunks instead of thighs. I also followed the suggestion to substitue a can of Rotel (used Habenero Rote) for part of the diced tomatoes and that added GREAT flavor. This makes more than enough for 6 people though - we have a ton of leftovers, although that's ok as I don't mind leftovers! Thanks for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAWNEY112

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2007
Lots of great ingredients and I was excited to try. A little disappointed. The rice was not quite cooked and I had to overcook the seafood to accomlish this. Maybe it wasn't enough liquid. I would use a 28 oz can of crushed tomatoes instead of the 14 oz. The overall flavor was quite bland. Needed more spices....at a bare minimum some black pepper...and some red pepper or hot sauce if you like it spicy. I think I will also use some chicken broth to replace the 6 cups of water. Open to trying it again with these changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BoxerMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
I made this recipe and found it to be the best paella that I have ever had the pleasure eat. Fabulous! Thank you for sharing, Maria.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NoChaHo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
I made this yesterday with just a couple changes. I omitted the chicken and used fish broth rather than water. I would maybe use a mixture of fish and chicken broth next time for a little more flavor but this was overall a really yummy dish. Such an easy recipe once you have everything assembled. The combination of seafood was absolutely delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tania

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: Scotts Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elaine
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
this was real good but i did do some of the things that others have said and i turnd out great. this is what i did 1) insted of 6 cups of water i did this 3C broth 2) i had extra canned tomatoes so i add 1C of the juice and 1C of wine. now the other thing i did was in a bowl i mixed everything together to sit and get all the flavors so that is peas i added corn to rice saffron broth mix and salt the last thing i also did was i have spanish olives in my decor as you may see in the pic well my guest loved it and cant wait for me to make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
Made a few subs., added a can of Rotel extra hot tomatoes to give it a kick, and added mussels, more shrimp and more calamari. Turned out fabulous! Everyone loved it.Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
Tried several other Paella recipes and had mixed results. This one is by far the best I have tried. Excellent results. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I served this up for a dinner party and wowed my guests. I've never made paella before, but this was pretty easy. I had to make a few alterations to the ingredients including a whole red bell pepper rather than the green, and I used a different selection of seafood. I omitted the peas and used basmati rice in lieu of instruction and it worked really well. Thanks for the lovely recipe! I'll be passing it around the whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wellington , Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
We had a few changes of our own. We used the rotel as someone else recommended. But, we only used half can of the habinaro Rotel. Couldnt get clams or mussells, so, we added some halibut and salmon. Increased the amount of shrimp and calamari. We didnt have any saffron so we used 2 packages of saffron rice instead. Overall it was awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Loved it! The only thing I did different was to use shrimp shell broth instead of water. A hearty paella, thanks for the recipe, it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Seafood Paella

See how to make a traditional Spanish seafood stew.

Quick and Easy Paella

See how to make a quick version of classic Spanish paella with shrimp & sausage.

Easy Paella

Chicken, sausage, and shrimp shine in this easy, flavorful Spanish rice dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States