Maria's Paella Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
This was a good paella recipe, but it was a bit bland for us and the rice to seafood ratio is way too heavy on the rice. Next time we'll reduce the rice to 2 cups, which will still be plenty. I know paella isn't supposed to be spicy, but we enjoy a bit of fire. We added hot pepper sauce to ours and it was much more to our liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Centerville, Iowa, USA
Living In: Hampton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Not my favorite, a lot of rice and a bit on the bland side. Added red pepper flakes at the table to pep it up a bit, think the Rotel idea would be good and adding some paprika as I've seen in other recipes. Added the seafood at the end, still plenty of seafood flavor and it wasn't overdone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
I chose this recipe since it seemed to be one of the most authentic on the site. I made it for mother's day lunch and the results were absolutely delicious! I was a little worried because my father is a tough critic when it comes to food and a master rice maker but he loved it and even had seconds. The only change I made was to use chicken broth instead of water. An excellent dish with room for variation. Thanks for this excellent recipe- will be making for company soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
This is a very good Paella recipe, but I would cut the rice in half and add more shrimp, clams, mussels, scallops,etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Rockport, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bgreenstone
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
I was skeptical when I read the recipe because it didn't have any chicken/seafood broth in it. As expected, it was a pretty dry and not very flavorful paella. I've had much better. It didn't have that seafood flavor that defines a paella, instead, it just tasted like rice with some seafood on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
I made this for a group of our friends, after we returned from Catalunya (Barcelona, Spain). It was a hit! I did adjust it slightly. I used Rotel to replace the crushed tomatoes and chicken broth to replace the water. I will definitely make this again. Thank you for the recipe from your family heritage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chagyrlchicky
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
First time making paella, but made a few changes. I added about a pound of chicken breast tenders instead, hubby didn't want any bones. Instead of using water I used chicken broth and reduced the amount from 6 cups to 4 cups. I saw in a another recipe to add a bay leaf and i did. Definitely brought together the flavors. Last but not least i added large cooked shrimp and fully cooked mussels. AMazing we usually pay $45 at a local restaurant for this and now we can just make it ourselves. Overall great recipe. Hope this helps!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chagyrlchicky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
We recently ate our way through Barcelona, trying different paella dishes. This recipe is one that comes really close to what is served there. Most other recipes on the web have chorizo in them, which is NEVER used in the better restaurants since it overwhelms the taste of the seafood. You can add whatever veggies or extras you want to this as well. Thanks so much for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
Wait to add seafood and peas until rice is almost cooked. I use whatever seafood is a bargain, but try to always add lots of mussels and clams for their wonderful flavor. We also like a little heat with a bit of cayenne or hot sauce added. I've made this many times and the chicken often remains as a left over, so now I use smoked sausage to round out the meal. I too use a mix of turmeric and paprika as an inexpensive substitute for saffron.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisa D
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I made this for New Year's Eve with a friend who has the big paella pan, and it was delicious and looks so impressive. I used large shrimp and scallops, littleneck clams, mussels, freshly made chorizo, and chicken thighs (next time I would not include the mussels or clams but will add salmon). Following some of the other reviews, I used a combination of white wine and chicken broth for the liquid, and 28 oz of crushed tomatoes. I added a sprinkle of hot paprika. I served some hot curry Spanish olives on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa D

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Merrillville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Seafood Paella

See how to make a traditional Spanish seafood stew.

Quick and Easy Paella

See how to make a quick version of classic Spanish paella with shrimp & sausage.

Easy Paella

Chicken, sausage, and shrimp shine in this easy, flavorful Spanish rice dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States