Maria's Paella Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2007
Made a few subs., added a can of Rotel extra hot tomatoes to give it a kick, and added mussels, more shrimp and more calamari. Turned out fabulous! Everyone loved it.Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Wow, was this delicious! I made a few alterations - a friend who lived in Spain said you can substitue turmeric for the saffron without much taste difference and it worked great. I also had a bag of frozen paella seafood mix from Sam's Club - so I just guesstimated the amount needed. Use chicken breast chunks instead of thighs. I also followed the suggestion to substitue a can of Rotel (used Habenero Rote) for part of the diced tomatoes and that added GREAT flavor. This makes more than enough for 6 people though - we have a ton of leftovers, although that's ok as I don't mind leftovers! Thanks for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAWNEY112

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
I made this recipe and found it to be the best paella that I have ever had the pleasure eat. Fabulous! Thank you for sharing, Maria.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NoChaHo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
Tried several other Paella recipes and had mixed results. This one is by far the best I have tried. Excellent results. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
This recipe is so delicious. I used one can tomato sauce and frozen seafood mix. The amount is a lot (enough for about 5 or 6 people).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elaine
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
this was real good but i did do some of the things that others have said and i turnd out great. this is what i did 1) insted of 6 cups of water i did this 3C broth 2) i had extra canned tomatoes so i add 1C of the juice and 1C of wine. now the other thing i did was in a bowl i mixed everything together to sit and get all the flavors so that is peas i added corn to rice saffron broth mix and salt the last thing i also did was i have spanish olives in my decor as you may see in the pic well my guest loved it and cant wait for me to make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Loved it! The only thing I did different was to use shrimp shell broth instead of water. A hearty paella, thanks for the recipe, it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I served this up for a dinner party and wowed my guests. I've never made paella before, but this was pretty easy. I had to make a few alterations to the ingredients including a whole red bell pepper rather than the green, and I used a different selection of seafood. I omitted the peas and used basmati rice in lieu of instruction and it worked really well. Thanks for the lovely recipe! I'll be passing it around the whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wellington , Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
This was delish! I did do a couple things different. I didn't have thighs so I used chicken breasts, I used turmeric since I didn't have saffron and I used zucchini instead of peas because we didn't have any of those either. Even with all the substitutions it as really yummy! We will definitely make it again - thanks for the yummy recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliema

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Great recipe! Definately use the chicken broth instead of water. Add a beer with the chicken broth for great flavor. Lobster is fantastic in this dish. If you like to have some heat, throw some red pepper flakes in. We had a great time making and eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Seafood Paella

See how to make a traditional Spanish seafood stew.

Quick and Easy Paella

See how to make a quick version of classic Spanish paella with shrimp & sausage.

Easy Paella

Chicken, sausage, and shrimp shine in this easy, flavorful Spanish rice dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States