Maria's Mexican Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
I love Mexican food, and as a native Texan I can attest that this is the real deal. I used brown rice since that's all I had on hand, so I had to simmer it longer. I also added fresh jalapeno slices instead of the whole serrano which gave it great flavor AND the kick I wanted. In addition, I think I went a little heavy handed on the tomato sauce (not recommended for next time) and omitted the salt (highly recommended). Everyone knows you have to "fry" Mexican rice before boiling it, so I had high hopes for this dish and it delivered. It makes a LOT of rice, which is fine because although I originally served it with homemade pork tamales from a sweet neighborhood abuelita, I have used some of the leftovers to stuff bell peppers (mixed with leftover "Best Black Beans" by Cameron on this site) much to the delight of my fiance. And there is still some rice left! Follow the instructions, but don't be afraid to add peppers to the pot not just to discard but to mix into the rice depending on your personal taste. Thanks for sharing... this is going into my regular rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
This is the best Mexican rice dish that I've ever made. I didn't have chicken bouillon so I used 1 cup chicken broth in place of 1 cup of the water. Using the serrano pepper whole really did make for nice flavor without being too hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
This was excellent! I have had many kinds of Mexican rice, and I have to tell you that this is the most authentic recipe ever! Congratulations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Excellent rice. Just what I was looking for. None of the flavors were over powering. I hate when people change the recipe and rate it, but this time I did make one change. I wanted a little more rice so I added an additional 1/2 cup. Next time, I would do the same, and the only other tip would be to lessen the amount of salt. I would cut the salt in half. I don't think it needed that much, and I'd rather add more salt, if desired, at the end, because you certainly can't take it out then. Yummy, the whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Photo by jadedgurl
Reviewed: May 6, 2013
This was delicious! Followed the recipe exactly. This rice had lots of flavor compared to even restaurant rice! For the tomato sauce I used some left over spag sauce I had but that was my only change. Look no further for a mexican rice recipe, This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jadedgurl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
Delicious! Perfect rice. There are many Mexican rice recipes out there. THIS is the one that's spot on to the best of the family-run restaurants I used to visit when I lived in San Diego. Really, if you want authentic Mexican rice, look no further, you've found it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucylove

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2013
I've been looking for a good Mexican/Spanish rice recipe and this is it - finally! Easy to make and delicious. Will definitely make again...and again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
This is essentially the same recipe I grew up eating and learned from my mother, who learned it from hers. We're California-Texas Mexican-Americans, so I can call this authentic and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SquirlGrrl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I scaled this recipe up for 16, and it was wonderful. Made it just as written, a d everyone loved it, even a couple that are very critical of food. Next time I will open the Serrano chilies for a little more spice as stated, but it was wonderful. I cannot wait to make it again. Thanks for the best rice ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentone, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
This is almost the same recipe I have used for 25 years. It has never failed. My family loves it. Deb
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States