Maria's Mexican Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
Did not use any salt enough salt in the bouillon for my taste added some garlic all tasted very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Leesburg, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
This is the best Mexican rice dish that I've ever made. I didn't have chicken bouillon so I used 1 cup chicken broth in place of 1 cup of the water. Using the serrano pepper whole really did make for nice flavor without being too hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
I love Mexican food, and as a native Texan I can attest that this is the real deal. I used brown rice since that's all I had on hand, so I had to simmer it longer. I also added fresh jalapeno slices instead of the whole serrano which gave it great flavor AND the kick I wanted. In addition, I think I went a little heavy handed on the tomato sauce (not recommended for next time) and omitted the salt (highly recommended). Everyone knows you have to "fry" Mexican rice before boiling it, so I had high hopes for this dish and it delivered. It makes a LOT of rice, which is fine because although I originally served it with homemade pork tamales from a sweet neighborhood abuelita, I have used some of the leftovers to stuff bell peppers (mixed with leftover "Best Black Beans" by Cameron on this site) much to the delight of my fiance. And there is still some rice left! Follow the instructions, but don't be afraid to add peppers to the pot not just to discard but to mix into the rice depending on your personal taste. Thanks for sharing... this is going into my regular rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I tried this recipe for the first time last night. It was good although I added too much water and I like my rice on the dryer side. The flavor was good and almost what I'm used to. I added some seasoned ground turkey and made sort of a mexican dirty rice. Que rico!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmeeks

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This was really good -- as good or maybe even better than many of the authentic Mexican restaurants we have here in TX. As another reviewer mentioned, though, mine also turned out a bit more watery than I'm used to, and I also like my rice a bit on the dry side (just a personal preference). Letting the rice sit for 5 minutes after it's done helped, though. The best part is that it's easy to make this vegetarian-friendly by omitting the bouillon and substituting one cup of the water for a cup of veggie broth or one of the many varieties of vegetarian "chicken" broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
This turned out great! Only very minor tweaks were made based on personal preference and ingredients on hand. I was a little worried about "runny" rice, so I decreased the water by about 1/4 cup, When measuring my rice, I didn't measure out exactly a cup - it was just a tad over. I used basmati rice since I have 20lbs of it! I didn't have any onion, so I had to do without, unfortunately. I can't wait to make it again WITH onion! I added some minced garlic with the other spices (about one clove). I will add more next time. I didn't have a serrano on hand, but I had a jalapeno, so I used that. I love the hint of flavor it gave to the rice. I was happy with the results and will be using this recipe again. For me, it was perfect! THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2sabes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
O.K. so it usually annoys me when people review a recipe when they haven't followed it but... I had to. This rice is awesome! And thats without the onion & chili pepper. Didn't have it but really wanted mexican rice to go with my shredded chicken tacos. I have made dozens of recipes for this kind of rice and never liked any of them. This one is light & fluffy and flavored just right. Like my favorite mexican restaurant. I can't wait to try it with the onion & peppers! Just try it. Its sooooo easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UNICORN141

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
This was excellent! I have had many kinds of Mexican rice, and I have to tell you that this is the most authentic recipe ever! Congratulations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I scaled this recipe up for 16, and it was wonderful. Made it just as written, a d everyone loved it, even a couple that are very critical of food. Next time I will open the Serrano chilies for a little more spice as stated, but it was wonderful. I cannot wait to make it again. Thanks for the best rice ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentone, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
made this recipe last minute to go with chicken fajitas. this recipe was very easy to follow and love it. soooo good. i did decrease the amount of water because i like drier rice. so instead of 2 1/2 cups i used 2 cups. came out good. def gonna use this recipe again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States