Maria's Mexican Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
The flavors here were good, but far too salty, and I felt like the bouillon came on a little strong. (I used reduced-sodium Better Than Bouillon; maybe I should have used a different kind, but that was what I had!) Next time I make it, I'll omit the extra tablespoon of salt, as well as one of the tablespoons of oil, since my final product was a bit oily. Also, I used brown rice, and as usual, this recipe took far longer to cook than plain brown rice would. I would allow at least an hour; I let ours cook for 55 minutes and it was still a bit crunchy. (This might also have made the oiliness worse, and if so, that's all my fault!) I also only used 2 cups of water, which is my usual rice-to-water ratio, but next time I'll try it as written. There will be a next time, though; I liked the flavors enough to try it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Served this with chicken. Everyone thought it was very flavorful. I was worried about the serrano chile but it did not over "heat" the recipe. I made it exactly as written. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
Amazing make this every time I serve a mexican dish. Definitely a family favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
This was a very simple recipe to follow and my sister, who is a picky eater, thought it was the best rice ever. Definitely making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Did not like it at all, very bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
This rice was good, probably the best Mexican rice I've made at home. I used a 4 oz. can of diced green chilies instead of the serrano pepper. I thought it was going to be too dry by the end of the 15 minutes, so I added a little chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
This is fabulous!!!!!! I made it with oregano and cilantro, but the serrano pepper was the kicker. It was better than any Mexican restaurant rice I've ever eaten. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
This is essentially the same recipe I grew up eating and learned from my mother, who learned it from hers. We're California-Texas Mexican-Americans, so I can call this authentic and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SquirlGrrl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
This is almost the same recipe I have used for 25 years. It has never failed. My family loves it. Deb
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
Delicious! Perfect rice. There are many Mexican rice recipes out there. THIS is the one that's spot on to the best of the family-run restaurants I used to visit when I lived in San Diego. Really, if you want authentic Mexican rice, look no further, you've found it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucylove

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States