Maria's Broccoli Rabe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
I am a huge broccoli Rabe fan!! I have aways just sauted it a bit and add just a little water to get it cooked. The bitterness never really bothered me or for that matter, crossed my mind or taste buds. I figured that was the way it was supposed to taste. The flavor is Fabulous!! It can be hard to find but when I do, I grab a couple bunches,cook it all up and freeze asmall portions of it for later dinners. I do the same with collard greens. If you haven't tried this spring time veggy, you Must. It is very good, it's better with some bacon sprinkled in it too. LOL Thank you Maria, I will be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This is the first time I cooked broccoli rabe and I wanted a very simple and easy to follow recipe. I truly enjoyed the dish and will definately cook it for my family again. I boiled the rabe. Good move
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Add another voice that says you must either blanch or lightly boil broccoli rabe (a.k.a. Rapini). I like bitterness, but unblanched this vegetable is simply too bitter. An Italian friend told me the secret and now I love to have this vegetable from time to time. This recipe was perfect with my Chicken Cacciatore! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
This was pretty good. It definitely needed salt and pepper. Next time I will double the amount of garlic and skip the first step of boiling the broccoli, it came out too soft for our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
i've boiled it, sauted it, microwaved it, added lemon, salt, pepper, honey, cross cut the stems, added parm cheese and the only way to get the bitterness out is to use another vegetable. This stuff cannot be made without the inedible bitterness. Chinese broccoli is totally different. Par boil Chinese broccoli first, stir fry it or saute it and it is the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
This was very good and my first attempt at broccoli rabe. I think maybe my husband over cooked the rabe but the flavor was great :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenwee99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Thank you so much for this recipe! I removed the stems, my personal preference, but definitely don't need to. I just had a spinach in Bostons North End and I think this is exactly how they made it. I will try in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I love this recipe and I add a pinch of red pepper to the olive oil and garlic that gives this a little kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I do not eat this myself, but I make it for my g/f all the time and she loves it. In case you are having trouble finding it in the store, it is also called rapini (guess it depends on where you are). My g/f likes it bitter, so she makes me look for the one with the most flowers, the more flowers in the bunch the bitterer it is
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly as written and we still found it to be very bitter. I had rapini a while back in an Italian restaurant and don't remember it tasting bitter at all. Maybe I'll try boiling it for longer than 5 minutes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Maria's Broccoli Rabe

This easy, delicious vegetable side dish goes with practically anything.

Easy Broccoli Salad

Watch Chef John make an easy, healthy broccoli side dish.

Roasted Garlic Lemon Broccoli

Florets are roasted with garlic in olive oil and dressed with fresh lemon juice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States