Margo's Chicken Adobo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I made this in the slow cooker so the chicken was very moist and tender. We weren't crazy about the flavor of this though. I've never made adobo before so nothing to really compare it to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Each time I made a form of chicken adobo mine would come out too sour or too salty. This recipe was just right. I did tweak the recipe to make less. Also I used skinless boneless chicken breast. I was afraid it would have become a little sour so i did put more water, but I don't think that was needed. Although this recipe does not taste close to my moms, I find it pretty decent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
I personally thought it had a bit too much vinegar. I think it would be better in I cut out some of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mctmagill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Fantastic recipe...5 stars all the way around for ease of preparation and taste...great recipe! Thanks so much for submitting this gem!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Fabulous, fabulous, fabulous! A wonderful combination of flavors to tickle the taste buds of even the most finicky eaters. Easy to make, and although I didn't quite have a full cup of soy sauce on-hand, the chicken tasted out of this world. I did pierce the meat prior to browning and again while it was resting so it would absorb the maximum sauce in the slow cooker. Honestly, this is such a crowd pleaser! Thanks so much, Margo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Monroe, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
This was my first attempt making chicken adobo and it turned out wonderfully. I really appreciate how easy it was to make and with so few ingredients(pantry staples, no less!). I didn't have a cinnamin stick so I used some of the ground stuff. I would recommend this recipe to a beginner or someone like me who has never made adobo before. Thanks so much Margo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I tried this last night. The flavor is awesome but the sauce was a bit watery. I am going to add some cornstarch & water in order to make it a bit more gravy like & stick. Next time I make this I will make it with boneless chicken breasts b/c the meat I got off of the the thighs & drumsticks wasn't very filling for me. Great flavor though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Excellent! Just like my neighbor used to make. I did add an additional cup and a half water and used 1/4 tsp of cinnamon (did not have a stick). Served with steamed white rice and broccoli, both drizzled with the simmering sauce. My 2 1/2 year old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doobzie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
This recipe was amazing, very simple to make, and a great balance of flavors. I didn't change the recipe at all.Even my picky children asked me to make it again. The next tie I make it I might try piercing the meat to get a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Turned out fantastic - followed it to a T, and could not have been more pleased with the outcome. Very easy to make and prepare side dishes while the chicken simmers. The whole family loved it, and the leftovers are delicious - I might even try to make ahead and freeze. I love that this is low carb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Filipino Chicken Adobo

See how to make tangy Filipino-style chicken adobo.

Oven Roasted Teriyaki Chicken

Homemade teriyaki sauce adds lip-smacking flavor to roasted chicken thighs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States