Margie's Sour Cream Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2006
These were just perfect, followed the recipe exactly, was a little leery of all that vinegar, but glad that I used it. I served with basmati rice, and my husband is still raving. The pork chops came out moist and tender, even after an hour in the oven, uncovered. Can't wait to show off with this recipe for company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
Love it! However I did sybstitute Fresh sage for the dried savory. I love fresh sage, and use it all the time,especially with pork or chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
I made these two days ago and were so darn tasty, I made them again last night. Very tender with just enough zip, making them the best chops I have ever tasted. I am so glad you posted this recipe. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
Very nice! my family loved it! nice and light with a little tang... I did decrease the vinegar to 3 tablespoons as to not over power the summer savory or sour cream and I cooked it in an electric frying pan at 275 for 40 mins uncovered the last 20 mins.... great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
I made this last night. Wasn't sure about the vinegar, but it came out tasting great. I did add rubbed sage to the flour mixture (because I like it on chops). I made 6 chops, used 1 14 oz can of Swanson's chicken broth and about a cup of sour cream. It wasn't done in one hour - they were still tough -- and the sauce was really runny. So I sprinkled some "Wondra" flour on top of them and cooked for another 1/2 hour. They were delicious and the sauce was perfect! Great recipe. All said, I will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: May 31, 2009
These pork chops are incredibly tender--and not at all overcooked, which could be the case after browning on the stovetop and baking for an hour. It must be the sour cream mix that protects the pork chops. It does develop a "skin" on the sour cream, but it still tastes fine. I used ground savory bc I don't have dried summer savory, and I added a bit of garlic powder. I also added some corn starch to the mix while heating it in the pan so as to get a thicker sauce. It turned out well. It is kind of sweet and sour--not really like sweet and sour sauce but it does faintly remind me of it. I do like it, even if it didn't result in the most beautiful pic I've ever taken. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
I love sour cream, and this was great. I have a hard time digesting meat if it isn't tender. This was so tender I cut it with a spoon. I served it with a spiach orzo. Exccellent...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sumiton, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Special thanks to Grandma Margie (and Shiloh) for sharing a great recipe! The sauce is wonderful, a mild sweet/sour flavor that complements the meat nicely. I didn't have summer savory but read on-line that thyme is a substitute. I garnished with parsley, served it with rice, cooked in my left-over chicken broth, peas, and red grapes. The presentation was appealing and my husband (a tough critic) like it. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OhioKEE
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Loved them! I thought the ingredients were a little odd at first but they turned out amazing. I'm not a huge pork chop fan but I will make these again. My husband was impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Tried this tonite and hubby loved it. My chops were a bit more fatty so there was a layer of oil I had to pour off the pan while cooking. The sour cream added a nice flavor. It was quite savory with the vinegar as an added surprise liking. I cooked it with rice and acorn squash as sides. Perfect for cold fall nites :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States