Margie's Sour Cream Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2014
After a few bites I just could not stand the flavor. I could see my son was picking at his!!lol So I told him I really could not finish my chops. He looked at me and said "Dad I like them with the cream of mushroom soup you make. These taste funny."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
I have made this recipe three times and each time the sauce has been thin and tasteless no matter how long I cook it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
I tried this recipe last night. It was good, but I think next time I will leave the sugar out. I love how moist & tender the chops turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
The sauce looks watery and tastes strange when first added to the meat, but it cooks down to be rather thick and especially good, an almost unique taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I doubled the recipe and substituted poultry seasoning for the summer savory and apple cider vinegar for the regular. Not successful. The chops were very tender, but the sauce had a very odd consistency. Flavor of sauce was okay, but not great. I'll try it again without substitutions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
I followed the recipe as instructed, only substituting thyme for the summer savory. I have to say, it was mediocre. The sauce was very runny. And I don't know what it is, but I can NOT get pork chops to be tender. That is why I tried this recipe. But they were still somewhat tough. Oh well, they did have a nice flavor, and my husband seemed to enjoy them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IslndGrl74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
I liked this alot but directions for " In a saucepan over medium-low heat, whisk together the chicken broth, vinegar, sour cream, sugar, savory, and bay leaves." was left out. How long, what consistency, etc?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I have been looking for this recipe, I had these years ago and have been looking for years, they are just as amazing as I remember. I messed up and used apple cider vinegar next time i will use white vinegar. Amazing and very tender will cook these again. Thank you for posting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
I really wanted to like this recipe it looked great but boy what a let down. It was way to much vinegar and the sourcream/vinegar combo was not good and the sauce was too thin. There was no saving this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naomi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
I made this with very few changes. I always season my meat before dredging, 2 chops instead of 4 and oregano/thyme mixture instead of Savory since I was out. I did find the vinegar a bit overwhelming. I am going to try substituting white wine or white wine vinegar to make it less "tangy". I also found it too sweet with that much sugar. I will likely omit the sugar in the future. I LOVE the concept for this dish though. My husband rated it "It won't break my heart if you make it again" LOL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States