Margie's Sour Cream Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: May 31, 2009
These pork chops are incredibly tender--and not at all overcooked, which could be the case after browning on the stovetop and baking for an hour. It must be the sour cream mix that protects the pork chops. It does develop a "skin" on the sour cream, but it still tastes fine. I used ground savory bc I don't have dried summer savory, and I added a bit of garlic powder. I also added some corn starch to the mix while heating it in the pan so as to get a thicker sauce. It turned out well. It is kind of sweet and sour--not really like sweet and sour sauce but it does faintly remind me of it. I do like it, even if it didn't result in the most beautiful pic I've ever taken. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
This was way too much of a vinegar taste. We like vinegar, but this did not smell or taste good. I followed the recipe as written,cooked longer than called for as we do not eat on a firm schedule. When I took the pork chops out, the sauce was too vinegary and thin. I tasted it and decided at that time to thicken it with a small amount of flour. I cooked the flour in for a few minutes, and the consistency was much better. The taste was just too much vinegar. I love Summer Savory, and would have been happier with just the broth and savory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
Big hit at work and home
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
wow those PORK CHOPS were really really good.!!! i didnt have and couldnt find any summmer savory so i used italian seasoning. IS WAS GOOD!!! THIS IS ONLY the start for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whatz4dinner

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Lancaster, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
Tried this recipe and absolutely hated it! The sauce was too thin and sort of sickly sweet and sour. For sweet and sour would stick to a red sauce next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
This was not good at all. Visually, it looked like pork chops covered in curdled milk and it definitely didn't taste good. I will not make this one again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
WOW! Delicious. My husband LOVES pork chops and I do not. We have found a recipe we both enjoy. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
WOW - I loved it! I messed up and it still turned out GREAT! I thought I had savory and sage at home, I didn't. I was going to use a small amount of dill but thought I'd try it without any spice. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
I used white wine vinegar and was happy with the taste. However, the sauce was very thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
I liked this very much. I didn't have savory, so I used basil. I cut back on the vinegar. Next time, I will used the full amount of vinegar and get some savory. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annekj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Papillion, Nebraska, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States