Margie's Sour Cream Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Thanks to the reviewers' notes, the dish turned out to be great! Note to anyone who wants to try the recipe in the future, add SALT. The main ingredient missing in the recipe is salt. I salted the pork chops before coating them with flour. And add a tablespoon salt while cooking the sour cream mixture. With the amount of pork chops, 4, that the recipe calls for, you will for sure get the watery sauce at the end. So add 2 more chops and whisk in about 1 tablespoon flour left from coating the chops. If you really don't want the chop to taste sweet, cut the sugar in half. I also added a red onion (julianed) and a small box of mushroom (sliced) sautéed in the oil left from browning the chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mary
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
These were very moist and had quite an original taste, but the flavors didn't really blend together enough for my family's taste. I will still be searching for the perfect pork chop recipe. Three and one half stars, bumped up to four for ease of preparation, low cost, and moistness. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I was looking for something different for pork chops and decided to try this recipe. It was excellent. I used Italian seasoning as a substitute for the savory and added some sauteed onions and mushrooms. My husband really loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I used 3 tblspns white vinegar, 1 can of broth, and Italian seasonings in place of the savory (didn't have it and we were snowed in) 1tsp of Worst sauce, and also added a teaspoon of Cornstarch before pouring the sauce mixture over the chops. Served over egg noodles. When I have the chance, I'll use Savory, but it turned out DELICIOUS! The entire family approved so it will go into the favorites rotation. VERY quick and easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRANGIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
These pork chops tasted very good and were so tender. I know that I will make it again. Thank you very much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Thank you for the recipe. I made it as the recipe says, and the pork chops were nice and tender, but it was a little too much vinegar/sugary tangy for me. I think that overall, it is a good recipe, but I will have to tweak it to my taste. I was hopeing to use some of the sauce on my mashed potatoes, but it just didn't seem right. I was thinking it was going to be more of a salty, flavorful gravy, but it was just to sweet for me. I'm going to play with this recipe and reduce the vinegar and sugar to try to get it to come out more to my taste. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
These pork chops were so moist! The gravy was great on top of spinach...I might use less vinegar next time, but that is just my personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Guilford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Special thanks to Grandma Margie (and Shiloh) for sharing a great recipe! The sauce is wonderful, a mild sweet/sour flavor that complements the meat nicely. I didn't have summer savory but read on-line that thyme is a substitute. I garnished with parsley, served it with rice, cooked in my left-over chicken broth, peas, and red grapes. The presentation was appealing and my husband (a tough critic) like it. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OhioKEE
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
A quick, tasty recipe. I halved it and used Splenda and it came out great! It went well with a cornbread side. Will try it with mashed potatoes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
It was a little to sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States