Margie's Shortbread Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Very good just as written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
These are great. I must mention that I added one egg, 1 t. vanilla and 1/2 t. salt as others recommended, so I didn't make the "exact" recipe. Still, these were very tasty. A little crispy, a little soft. The vanilla really added a nice flavor. I mixed in some cinnamon to some of the dough before I baked the second tray and the cinnamon was a great addition. These will be nice cookies for the lunchboxes this week. And perhaps they are a teeny bit healthy with the oatmeal. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lemon Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
my brother loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
We also were looking for a HobNobs-type recipe. These aren't exactly the same, but they are quite tasty! I had no trouble working with the dough and only added the 1/2 teaspoon of salt that one reviewer mentioned. I used half quick oats and half old-fashioned since that's what I had on hand. I think all old-fashioned would have been better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
I added some peanut butter and chopped peanut and cashew nuts - delicious. I am Scottish and give them 4 thumbs up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Tastes great, and I was able to cut with cookie cutters, but I did have to add more water. I used a total of 2 Tbsp water...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJGammon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calera, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
i just found this recipe after having a craving for some shortbread. I made it and it was delicious. will definatley make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
Tasty, but a smidgen boring. Mine were crumbly too, they probably do need an egg to hold them together. I wouldn't make them for anyone by following the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
These were okay, but didn't really taste like a shortbread to me. I had to increase the water to 1/3 cup like the other reviewer suggested to make the dough workable. They remind me of a plain oatmeal cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RachelD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Illesheim, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Very good recipe. I did add an egg to mine because I do like a nice chewy cookie, and 1 tsp vanilla. I love vanilla in my oatmeal cookies, and they were great, co-workers at work absolutely loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Poetiksistah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States