Margie's Shortbread Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Eva Sanderson
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
I was looking for a cookie recipe that would be similar to a "hobnob". This recipe, while less crunchy, was great. I added a 1/2 teaspoon of salt, which I believe is very important to the sweetness of any cookie. I used splenda brown sugar, and only used 1/2 cup. I really like oats, and to be able to chew on them, so I used whole oats, but crushed them a bit with my hands before using them so I wouldn't so much like a barnyard animal while eating the cookie! After I incorporated all the ingredients, I made the dough into balls, then pushed them down with the bottom of a glass. I then sprinkled the dough with coarse sugar. After baking for the full 15 minutes, they turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva Sanderson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
I have a similar recipe passed down in my family as well. Ours has only 2 cups of oatmeal. TIP: I find that oat bran works the best. (The original family recipe used scottish oatmeal and is very coarse) Also decrease the sugar to 3/4 of a cup. Increase the water to 1/3 cup. I think you will find the dough easier to work with. Really a wonderful cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Very good recipe. I did add an egg to mine because I do like a nice chewy cookie, and 1 tsp vanilla. I love vanilla in my oatmeal cookies, and they were great, co-workers at work absolutely loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Poetiksistah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2005
My eleven yr. old son picked this one because he doesn't like to fuss with a lot of ingredients. They definately taste like shortbread with an oatmeal twist. The only thing he did for the second batch was add a little more butter to keep them from crumbling apart. He generously shares them with his friends who says "they're the BEST"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2004
I used cinnamon and apple oats, added 2 beaten eggs,1tsp.vanilla,1tsp. cinnamon,1/2 tsp. nutmeg and 1/2 cup fine chop nuts and followed recipe. and you end up with addictive cookies.thanks Jan for the start of the best cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2003
Great, easy cookies, but not exactly what I'd call shortbread. Taste more like really good granola bars. They were a big hit with my holiday cookie swap and my second batch was even more delicious when I spread a bit of melted chocolate on top as they cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2003
These tasted good, but I must have missed something. Mine turned out crumbly, not at all like a cookie. More like a graham cracker crust. Still, they are tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2003
I loved this recipe. It was easy to make and tasted great. My entire family liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2002
These are incredibly addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
These are great. I must mention that I added one egg, 1 t. vanilla and 1/2 t. salt as others recommended, so I didn't make the "exact" recipe. Still, these were very tasty. A little crispy, a little soft. The vanilla really added a nice flavor. I mixed in some cinnamon to some of the dough before I baked the second tray and the cinnamon was a great addition. These will be nice cookies for the lunchboxes this week. And perhaps they are a teeny bit healthy with the oatmeal. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lemon Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States