Margie's Shortbread Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
I have a similar recipe passed down in my family as well. Ours has only 2 cups of oatmeal. TIP: I find that oat bran works the best. (The original family recipe used scottish oatmeal and is very coarse) Also decrease the sugar to 3/4 of a cup. Increase the water to 1/3 cup. I think you will find the dough easier to work with. Really a wonderful cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Eva Sanderson
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
I was looking for a cookie recipe that would be similar to a "hobnob". This recipe, while less crunchy, was great. I added a 1/2 teaspoon of salt, which I believe is very important to the sweetness of any cookie. I used splenda brown sugar, and only used 1/2 cup. I really like oats, and to be able to chew on them, so I used whole oats, but crushed them a bit with my hands before using them so I wouldn't so much like a barnyard animal while eating the cookie! After I incorporated all the ingredients, I made the dough into balls, then pushed them down with the bottom of a glass. I then sprinkled the dough with coarse sugar. After baking for the full 15 minutes, they turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva Sanderson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
Very simple, very nice. A little bit crumbly to be cutting into shapes, although it held together enough to cut into strips. Good for dunking in tea, and I drizzled some with honey before cooking, which worked quite well. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2005
My eleven yr. old son picked this one because he doesn't like to fuss with a lot of ingredients. They definately taste like shortbread with an oatmeal twist. The only thing he did for the second batch was add a little more butter to keep them from crumbling apart. He generously shares them with his friends who says "they're the BEST"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2004
I used cinnamon and apple oats, added 2 beaten eggs,1tsp.vanilla,1tsp. cinnamon,1/2 tsp. nutmeg and 1/2 cup fine chop nuts and followed recipe. and you end up with addictive cookies.thanks Jan for the start of the best cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2003
Great, easy cookies, but not exactly what I'd call shortbread. Taste more like really good granola bars. They were a big hit with my holiday cookie swap and my second batch was even more delicious when I spread a bit of melted chocolate on top as they cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2003
I loved this recipe. It was easy to make and tasted great. My entire family liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2003
These tasted good, but I must have missed something. Mine turned out crumbly, not at all like a cookie. More like a graham cracker crust. Still, they are tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2002
These are incredibly addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-19 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States