Margie's Shortbread Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
These are great. I must mention that I added one egg, 1 t. vanilla and 1/2 t. salt as others recommended, so I didn't make the "exact" recipe. Still, these were very tasty. A little crispy, a little soft. The vanilla really added a nice flavor. I mixed in some cinnamon to some of the dough before I baked the second tray and the cinnamon was a great addition. These will be nice cookies for the lunchboxes this week. And perhaps they are a teeny bit healthy with the oatmeal. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lemon Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
my brother loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
We also were looking for a HobNobs-type recipe. These aren't exactly the same, but they are quite tasty! I had no trouble working with the dough and only added the 1/2 teaspoon of salt that one reviewer mentioned. I used half quick oats and half old-fashioned since that's what I had on hand. I think all old-fashioned would have been better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
I added some peanut butter and chopped peanut and cashew nuts - delicious. I am Scottish and give them 4 thumbs up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Tastes great, and I was able to cut with cookie cutters, but I did have to add more water. I used a total of 2 Tbsp water...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJGammon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calera, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
i just found this recipe after having a craving for some shortbread. I made it and it was delicious. will definatley make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
Tasty, but a smidgen boring. Mine were crumbly too, they probably do need an egg to hold them together. I wouldn't make them for anyone by following the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
These were okay, but didn't really taste like a shortbread to me. I had to increase the water to 1/3 cup like the other reviewer suggested to make the dough workable. They remind me of a plain oatmeal cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RachelD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Illesheim, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Very good recipe. I did add an egg to mine because I do like a nice chewy cookie, and 1 tsp vanilla. I love vanilla in my oatmeal cookies, and they were great, co-workers at work absolutely loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Poetiksistah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
I have a similar recipe passed down in my family as well. Ours has only 2 cups of oatmeal. TIP: I find that oat bran works the best. (The original family recipe used scottish oatmeal and is very coarse) Also decrease the sugar to 3/4 of a cup. Increase the water to 1/3 cup. I think you will find the dough easier to work with. Really a wonderful cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States