Margie's Cuban Sofrito (Sauce) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
An authentic Sofrito ONLY has Olive oil, Garlic, Onions, Bell Pepper, Salt and Pepper. Depending on what you may be cooking that you would add Tomato, Bay leaves or Oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by a-lo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monrovia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
This is very close to my Abuela's sofrito. For all you that say this isn't sofrito because of no cilantro - Cubans DO NOT USE cilantro in our sofrito. Instead we use oregano! I don't even like the taste of cilantro - yuck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
very authentic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Findlay, Ohio, USA
Living In: Golden, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
Tracie B - your review on March 10, 2010 was completely off-base. You might know what Puerto Rican sofrito is but are obviously unaware of Cuban cooking and that version of sofrito. This recipe is very close to what could be called a standard recipe for CUBAN sofrito - as the recipe author stated. True Cuban sofrito is cooked in extra virgon olive oil. Puerto Ricans tend to make sofrito like a salsa puree and then cook it later, Cubans tend to make it chunkier and cook it right when it is made. Before you berate a recipe and its author you ought to be sure you know what you are talking about, and if you don't know for sure then keep quiet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
Sorry, this NOT Sofrito. I don't know where this recipe came from, but it's missing Cilantro, Culantro and fresh tomato. Also, it has OIL? It's not supposed to be cooked. this make make some tasty type of sauce, but this is NOT Sofrito. Sofrito is a few basic, FRESH ingredients processed until smooth in a food processor. People, enjoy this as a sauce, but if you think this is authentic Sofrito, either Cuban OR Puerto Rican, you are mistaken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tracy h

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
Maybe the people reviewing are not Puerto Rican or Cuban because this is NOT sofrito! I tried it, was wondering about the ingredients, but I'm tired of using Goya frozen sofrito. Anyhow, this reminds me of a pico de gallo salsa mixture. Definately NOT an authentic sofrito :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
This is authentic Cuban sofrito, no tomatillos, no hot peppers, no cilantro but of course, comino (cumin)! It's similar to Puerto Rican sofrito which would add acaparra (capers) and green olives and omit the cumin. It's all delicious, love both cuisines.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
I do not like this and is not a sofrito you do not used tomatoes. You used onions, green, red or any other color pepper, garlic, culantro, cilantro and agi dulces if you like it with some kic. The tomatoes or tomato sauce you put it later with other seasoning.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARMENLMS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manhattan, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
I don't know about authentic Cuban dishes but I know this is a real keeper of a recipe. I made it just as written with the exception of not having any tomatoes so I left them out. The trick I think is to cook it for the full 30 minutes to blend the flavors. Meanwhile, I seasoned a pot roast with Everglades Seasoning and browned it in oil in a pressure cooker. Then I added two cups of liquid and cooked it 20 minutes. Both were done at the same time. I used the liquid from the pressure cooker to thin the sauce a little, added the cut up meat to the sauce and served it with black beans, yellow rice and cuban bread. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
I HAVE BEEN USE THIS SITE FOR A LONG TIME BUT NEVER JOIN. I JOINED BECUASE I WAS VERY MAD ABOUT THIS RECIPE. I DON'T SEE HOW SOME PEOPLE HAVE THIS A 5 STAR FOR SOFRITO MAYBE A 3 STAR FOR SALSA BUT NOT SOFRITO. I DID NOT LIKE THIS. 1ST PEEL THE TOMATOES(IF YOU ARE USING REGULAR TOMATOES WHICH I DON'T THINK YOU SHOULD FOR SOFRITO FROM WHAT I SEEN IN SOME LATIN CAFE).IT DOES REMIND ME OF MEXICAN SALSA WITH OUT A KIC(PUT HOT SAUCE THEN MAYBE). THE TASTE WAS NOT RIGHT FOR SOFRITO. GLAD I MADE IT FOR MY FAMILY ANF NOT FOR A DINNER PART. I WOULD HAVE BEEN RUNNING TO THE PHONE FOR TAKE OUT.I GUESS I'M STILL LOOKING FOR A GOOD CUBAN SOFRITO
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States