Margie's Cuban Sofrito (Sauce) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Angela Whip'nitupinthekitchen
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
Both of my parents were from Cuba... not the Caribbean side where sofrito tends to be spicy... Cuban sofrito is made with olive oil for starters; this recipe is very similar to what my parents taught my sisters and I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
WOW! I just started a diet and I can eat all the vegi's I want, so I tried this! Sadlly since I have never been to either Cuba or Puerto Rico so I can't vouch for the authenticity of the dish, I do have a friend that is Puerto Rican and she adds tomato when cooking in a specific dish. I made this last night and added it to beans and rice, and I used some today on fish! Both were wonderful! The only thing I changed was to omit the oil and use olive oil cooking spray to omit the fat and can of diced tomato drained instead of fresh (didn't have any)I also added a bit of corriander to even out the cilantro vs oregano debate. I did forget the Bay leaf but I will use them when I make more tomorrow. This is staying in my fridge as long as I'm on this diet!!! And even After!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
This is a very good sofrito, a lot like what i buy in the grocery store, but fresher! we had it on top of beans (frijoles peruanos). Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
An authentic Sofrito ONLY has Olive oil, Garlic, Onions, Bell Pepper, Salt and Pepper. Depending on what you may be cooking that you would add Tomato, Bay leaves or Oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by a-lo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monrovia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
This is very close to my Abuela's sofrito. For all you that say this isn't sofrito because of no cilantro - Cubans DO NOT USE cilantro in our sofrito. Instead we use oregano! I don't even like the taste of cilantro - yuck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
very authentic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Findlay, Ohio, USA
Living In: Golden, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
Tracie B - your review on March 10, 2010 was completely off-base. You might know what Puerto Rican sofrito is but are obviously unaware of Cuban cooking and that version of sofrito. This recipe is very close to what could be called a standard recipe for CUBAN sofrito - as the recipe author stated. True Cuban sofrito is cooked in extra virgon olive oil. Puerto Ricans tend to make sofrito like a salsa puree and then cook it later, Cubans tend to make it chunkier and cook it right when it is made. Before you berate a recipe and its author you ought to be sure you know what you are talking about, and if you don't know for sure then keep quiet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
Sorry, this NOT Sofrito. I don't know where this recipe came from, but it's missing Cilantro, Culantro and fresh tomato. Also, it has OIL? It's not supposed to be cooked. this make make some tasty type of sauce, but this is NOT Sofrito. Sofrito is a few basic, FRESH ingredients processed until smooth in a food processor. People, enjoy this as a sauce, but if you think this is authentic Sofrito, either Cuban OR Puerto Rican, you are mistaken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Hamilton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
Maybe the people reviewing are not Puerto Rican or Cuban because this is NOT sofrito! I tried it, was wondering about the ingredients, but I'm tired of using Goya frozen sofrito. Anyhow, this reminds me of a pico de gallo salsa mixture. Definately NOT an authentic sofrito :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
This is authentic Cuban sofrito, no tomatillos, no hot peppers, no cilantro but of course, comino (cumin)! It's similar to Puerto Rican sofrito which would add acaparra (capers) and green olives and omit the cumin. It's all delicious, love both cuisines.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

How to Make Mole Sauce

See how to make an authentic mole sauce, Oaxaca-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States