Margaritas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2004
I'm a bartender and when I saw this recipe I thought I'd share a tip or two for everyone. I've been using limeade as a sour mix substitute for years because it's just so simple and always on hand. If you add a half oz of OJ to the original recipe, it's even better. Plus, it never hurts to add the juice of a lemon or lime as it's blending. You can even do a half oz of Chambord or Grand Marnier "float" after you've poured them (Chambord is delish!!). Or, add some fresh or frozen fruit to the original recipe and make fruit margaritas. If you don't have fruit but have some flavored liquors at home, throw some in (sour apple pucker is very popular right now). Easy recipe to work with and it's made many of my anti-tequila friends huge margarita fans. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3783 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bethesda, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2004
I think this is the ONLY way to make blended margaritas! They taste SO MUCH better then those made with mix from the bottle!! One quick tip for easy measuring that I use- I dump the can of frozen limeade in the blender, fill the limeade can 3/4 full with tequilla and the remainder full (1/4) with the triple sec, pour that in then fill the blender with ice. Turn on the blender and let the party begin! Much easier then using a measuring cup. If this is too strong then simply fill the can half way with tequilla and add triple sec to make the can 3/4 full.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1437 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2002
I've been making margaritas like this for a few years now. Gold Tequila makes the best. Sometimes I'll top a frozen one w/amaretto which gives a great flavor. Also, try substituting Blue Curaco (also an orange liquor) for the triple sec to make a Blue Margarita. Or to cut down on the alcohol just use plain fresh squeezed oranges instead of the triple sec. There are lots of additions you can make - but nothing beats this margarita!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
609 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2002
I make mine the same way! Now that it is summer you HAVE to try this! Chunk up and de-seed about 2 to 3 cups of watermelon. Freeze the watermelon and add with the ice when making these margaritas. Freezing is key to keeping the drink a good thick frozen consistancy. Also, you can de-seed then puree and freeze in ice cube trays for later use. Just pop them in a zipper bag to keep fresh tasting. These will be the hit at your BBQ or next party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
163 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2003
I loved this recipe! It only took a minute to make a batch, and they taste just as good as the ones served in mexican restaurants. I used Grand Marnier in place of the Triple Sec. The limeade mix is cheaper and better than those Bacardi mixers. I plan to keep the freezer stocked with a few limeades so anytime we have guests we can quickly whip up these yummy drinks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2003
I made these on Father's Day and the women LOVED them (the men were mostly hard core beer drinkers). These margaritas got rave reviews. I wasn't too sure about filling the blender with ice but if you don't you won't get the right consistency (slushy). I also measured the tequila and Triple Sec with a measuring cup to get it just right. Not too tart and not too sweet, they are very smooth, easy to make, and they kept well in the refrigerator as well. EVERYONE asked for the recipe. Perfect for a warm afternoon outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2002
These are the best margaritas! They are so much better than those made with the mixes, and much cheaper too. These are so good my friends and I now have margarita Thursday at my house. Goes great with chips and salsa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2003
Wow hard to believe that it is this easy to make, and taste so wonderful!! I had several people not believing that this was my very first time ever making a margarita! I won't search any further! Thanks so much for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2003
I really liked the flavor of these but my husband thought they were a little stong. I have made them several times and will keep this recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
YEOWZA! These are strong! Next time I'll tone em' down a little, Thanks Katherine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 426) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Make the Best Margaritas

See how easy it is to make a classic margarita.

How to Make Frozen Margaritas

See how to blend the perfect frozen margarita.

Margaritas

Watch how to make these 5-star margaritas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States