Margaritas to Die For Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 15, 2012
Yum!!! Doubled the recipe and should have tripled! Thank you for a basic and beautiful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I don't know if I did something wrong but I only got 1 margarita out of it, not 4...of course it was a very strong one! I also blended it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
A lot of work for a so-so margarita. Strong, pulpy, and too limey, just not enough citrus favor for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbiana, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
These were pretty good. Much better than Margaritas you get made with sweet and sour. I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaPizza

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Trabuco Canyon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda (LMT)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
O.M.G.! Hands down one of the best Margaritas! Love that it does not use sour mix so it is a pure Margarita. It is strong but very enjoyable sipped over ice, you hardley notice how strong it is because it is that smooth. Salt rim is a must. Makes 2 nice sized servings. I mixed ALL the ingredients and chilled overnight then served over ice and really enjoyed this drink. No need to strain the lime zest as it adds wonderful character to this drink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Excellent ... don't even have to wait the 24 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
Made a big batch of the mix last night for a party tomorrow. Of course I had to taste test it when I got home from work. It is the best margarita mix I've ever had. Like someone suggested, instead of zesting I used a veggie peeler and it worked great. I used a medium priced 100% agave white tequila, and a medium priced Grand M. type liquor, and made a martini. 2 oz tequila, 1 oz GM, filled shaker with ice, then added 10-12 oz of the mix and shook it up. Made 2 servings. Will be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
This is the ONLY way to make margaritas. However, if you prefer the flavor of corn syrup and food coloring tequila or lime this recipe is probably not the recipe for you. It's a tragedy that 4 of the 5 top-rated recipes on this site use frozen limeade instead of limes, and the 5th uses store-bought sour mix. This recipe does take more time, but it is WORTH it! My husband no longer even bothers ordering margaritas when we go out. The trick is the zest - makes it so yummy! Tips: * We usually need to use more limes, just make sure you have a half cup of juice. * If you think it's too pulpy, it's easy to strain it. We do this maybe half the time - usually if we're serving to guests. * We usually use Cointreau as our orange liqueur, but GrandMa works just as well. * Letting it rest 24 hours is great, but I would just say let it sit as long as you can. Still tasty either way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
I recommend a ratio of 2:1 tequila:orange liquor. I also recommend using a 1.5 ounce jigger of tequila per serving, or 6 ounces for this recipe instead of 8 ounces. The recipe as published is very strong and too heavy on the tequila for the amount of orange liquor. Grand Marnier or Cointreau are excellent choices for the orange liquor. For 4 servings, use 6 ounces of tequila and 3 ounces of Grand Marnier, Cointreau, or Triple Sec. I like the idea in the recipe to use the lime peel. That is an interesting twist and adds flavor. If you don't like the peel in the drink, you could strain it out after it marinates in the fridge overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
Awesome - I used three large limes and it was enough for about 2 & 1/2 drinks over ice. Used triple sec. Add an orange slice too - perfect!! Peel lime with a peeler so it is oh so easy to strain before serving!! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosie V

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Make the Best Margaritas

See how easy it is to make a classic margarita.

How to Make Frozen Margaritas

See how to blend the perfect frozen margarita.

Margaritas

Watch how to make these 5-star margaritas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States