Margaritas to Die For Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
i dont like margaritas, im a dry red wine drinker, but this was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMANKAY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
I absolutely loved this recipe! I won't have on the rocks any other way! I used Cointreau instead of Grand Marnier. I think a cup may be a little strong, though I use the quantities listed here to make just 2 drinks, not 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2003
This IS delicious. Makes the best margarita my husband and I have ever had and we are margarita connoisseurs! :o) It is work squeezing all the limes and grating them... we make a double batch though! First sip is a doozy, then it's sooooo mellow. We also use Corazon, Patron or Cabo Wabo tequilla. The best tequilla makes all the difference! Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAGHM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: East Bridgewater, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2003
My husband and I really enjoyed this recipe! I had never had a non-blended one before and my husband said it was the best margarita he'd ever had. I was expecting something harsh but this was smooth and actually kind of sweet. I picked this over the others available because it wasn't blended. I didn't have 24 hours to wait so I warmed the water, lime zest, and sugar on the stove until the sugar dissolved and added the juice off the heat. I let it set while preparing the glasses and measuring the tequila and Triple Sec (instead of Grand Marnier as called for). We didn't prefer the zest in our drinks so I strained it when adding it to the alcohol. We also used sugar instead of salt on the rims. The only thing I'm left wondering is if the recipe should be for two drinks. We made a double batch and ended up with four small sized margaritas. We'll definitely make these again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2003
These were good but oh boy, they are STRONG! And that is after I decreased the amount of tequila a bit. They tasted great, you could smell the liquor but not really taste it. However, making the sweet and sour was kind of a pain. Next time I'll probably just make Margaritas on the rocks (also from Allrecipes). However, if you have the time and initiative, try these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2003
Not terrific. It seemed to pack too much of a punch. I probably could have halved the amount of liquor and been quite happy with this recipe. Ended up squeezing more lime juice and adding water to take the edge off of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2004
Love at first sip! These margaritas are perfection---intensely flavored, not "icky" sweet, and very smooth. My only change will be that after the 24 hour marination, I will strain out the lime zest. Actually one more change---I plan on making these often, and who needs to read the word "die" every time. From now on, these fabu maggies will be entitled "Margaritas Bev". Much thanks for sharing Jeff Winett
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2005
Love this recipe!! I don't like the sugary mixes that are sold in stores. Made these with Patron. Becareful, they sneak up on you. I also made them in a shaker instead of letting them sit over night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
Most margarita's seem too sweet, but this one was just right. Added a little fresh OJ to cut the lime zest just a bit. This was also good in the blender as a frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
I didn't measure ammounts exactly- I think you have to go by personal taste. The drink was very good. I used some low cal sweetner instead of the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rome, Lazio, Italy
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Make the Best Margaritas

See how easy it is to make a classic margarita.

How to Make Frozen Margaritas

See how to blend the perfect frozen margarita.

Margaritas

Watch how to make these 5-star margaritas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States