Margaritas to Die For Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
These are awesome... Well worth the work. Way better than using frozen limeade. Used Triple Sec instead of orange liqueur. Also, a lot of people say its too strong, I thought so too when making it, but I followed the directions anyway, and somehow I don't really taste the tequila. So now I add the recommended amount plus some ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I have made this recipe countless times and will never buy margarita mix again. If you are a margarita or tequila connosieur, you will love these and not mind the extra work involved. If you would ever consider putting beer or frozen limeade with your tequila, you will probably say these are too much trouble. If you do decide to make this delicious concotion, try these tips: 1. If you are in a rush, mix it in a glass bowl or cup and microwave for about 20 seconds to dissolve the sugar and bring the oil out of the zest. If you have time to wait overnight, marinate in the fridge and shake occasionally. Mason jars work great for this ;) 2. Unless you like drinking greenery with your margarita, strain the zest out before mixing/serving. 3. You can easily reduce the tequila by half and still feel good after drinking it :) 4. You probably won't get a full four drinks out of one batch so go ahead and plan to make a double!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairhope, Alabama, USA
Living In: Daphne, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
yaaaaa!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Killer! (as we say in San Diego)... If you like some kick, try infusing the sugar/syrup mixture with a jalapeno. Remove the seeds and quarter the pepper, let it infuse overnight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
By far the best Margarita's on the rocks we've ever had! I make the in mass (up the servings to 20) for parties. They are so strong...more like martini's than a traditional margarita, so be sure to warn guests. Instead of grating the lime zest, I use a potato peeler and peel it making it much easier to strain out later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
I'm not much of a margarita drinker, but these were oh-so-good! I agree with other reviewers - this really made about 2 or maybe 3 drinks (if served on the rocks). I also cut the amount of tequila in half and they're still good and strong! Overall a great recipe and I can't wait to see what my friends think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ktkat28

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
These were really great. *UPDATE* I can't stand the taste of frozen limeade which is why I was looking for an authentic recipe. This provided the perfect base although they were a bit strong. I blended mine with ice which made the base stretch a bit further and also took a bit of the edge off. I had a mexican fiesta with some friends and we all enjoyed them! Viva la Margarita!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taunte Sara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aylmer, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
It was way too strong. I had to add some orange juice to tone it down. I did like the lime juice simple syrup instead of sour mix though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lisbon, Maine, USA
Living In: Laconia, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
Very good! Worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
Not at all what I was hoping for. No way you get 4 servings out of that, not worth the 24 hour wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lewis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Make the Best Margaritas

See how easy it is to make a classic margarita.

How to Make Frozen Margaritas

See how to blend the perfect frozen margarita.

Margaritas

Watch how to make these 5-star margaritas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States