Margaritas on the Rocks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
I'd been searching for a really good margarita recipe for some time, and this one is hands down the best I've ever made! Rather than using Grand Marnier (which, at $43 a bottle at my liquor store, is too $$$ for my blood), I substituted Gran Gala, an Italian import was half the price. The important thing is finding an orange liqueur made with brandy, and this one fit the bill perfectly. Cointreau would work as well, but costs almost as much as Grand Marnier. The end result? Smooth and delicious. I'll be making these often! One other tip: do not skip salting the rim of the glasses. This is an essential step in a good margarita - the salt perfectly contrasts with the sweet-and-sour flavor of the beverage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
These are awesome! They are VERY strong!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I made these on a large scale for my sister's wedding shower. They were a big hit! I can't wait for an excuse to make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
sooo sooo yummmy. i ended up getting patron orange liquer instead of grand mariner because it was way cheaper. delish. i put the mixture in a sun tea container so everyone could get their refills easily. worked out perfect! not to mention the suntea container was painted with limes. it just fit ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
The BEST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
WOAH. Exceptional! I've made it my mission this summer to make the *perfect* margarita - this is it folks. For those of you who do not like margs sweet, use limeade in place of the sweet and sour mix. I used a top shelf tequila and a cheap tequila, and the top shelf made a HUGE difference. If blood oranges are in season, I squeeze one of those in place of the limes into the batch and it takes this to the level of nirvana! (Sometimes I just go with a navel orange if they are not in season!) Take my advice and make yourself a 2 drink limit and then wait 30 minutes before considering another. My big bad husband had 2, said he didn't feel a thing, went for the 3rd, and was still in bed at noon the next day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
I drank two of these and almost fell on the floor! They are delicious, but potent. A very good top-shelf margarita!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANIELLE BEATTY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
These were DELICIOUS! A perfect Friday cocktail. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2009
very strong but very good. I add a little sweetend lime juice just for more lime taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
Very good. Closest to restaurant margaritas I've made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Make the Best Margaritas

See how easy it is to make a classic margarita.

How to Make Frozen Margaritas

See how to blend the perfect frozen margarita.

Margaritas

Watch how to make these 5-star margaritas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States