Margarita Salmon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
We really enjoyed this recipe. I baked it in a foil packet as recommended and that kept it very moist and full of flavour. We poured more of the sauce over the salmon once it was baked to add more of the flavour. I bet this would be delicious on the BBQ as well! We'll make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meghan81

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
Where's the tequila? I wonder if that would taste good! This is a nice simple marinade. I added chopped garlic and a dash of cayenne. Served with curried rice pilaf from this site and sauteed swiss chard. Delish! For the cook who tried to marinate coho salmon..I have also tried to marinate coho but with a different recipe. It also did not work, so I believe the problem is with the fish, not this particular recipe. For some reason the coho just does not absorb any type of marinade. Maybe because it's so lean and firm-fleshed?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2004
Hands down my favorite salmon recipe. The lime juice and the honey cut through the richness of the salmon and make it very light and fresh tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I have made this a few times now and each time I get rave reviews!! My secret is I add a splash of tequila to the marinade and let it marinade longer than 30 minutes....who ever heard of a margarita without a little tequila??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
This recipe needs some major rework. It is bland to a fault, I will definitely not be using as-is again. I used fresh caught coho salmon (what a waste!). Next time I will add pressed garlic, kosher salt and reduce the olive oil to 1/2 tsp. As it stands, the marinade does not permeate the fish at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Hall

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Francie S
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This recipe was fabulous. I used sockeye salmon and I added a shot of tequila and cilantro to the marinade. I served it with a cold orzo salad with feta cheese, spinach, red onion and balsamic vinegar. I will be making this often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
This was delicious. I recommend marinating the salmon longer- a few hours or so. I ran out of brown sugar so I added a ½ tablespoon of Karo syrup (brown sugar variety) to the other ingredients. I also hit the salmon with the broiler for 5 minutes to slightly brown it up a bit on the top. Fantastic lighter dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allen Kozlowski

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
This was yummy! It was very light tasting and easy to make. I had to replace the orange blossom honey with clover honey. Either way it I will still be cooking this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This recipe was great base!! I customized it using juice of 3 limes, 1/4 c. honey, 2 Tbsp. brown sugar, sliced green onions, and 1 tsp. minced garlic. I marinated it for 2 hours. I used the foil method and added more fresh lime before serving. We ate spaghetti squash with this dish and it was a perfect complement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie Parsons

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hugoton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
This was so yummy! I didn’t measure very well so probably had a bit more lime and honey than called for. I also added 1 Tbl tequila—you could add more if you like. (Not sure why it was called Margarita Salmon – didn’t seem to taste like one at all) and cooked it on top the stove in a covered frying pan – oven off, summer, hot!!! I also served it with thinly sliced green onions on top for color and flavor. It was nice to drizzle some of the sauce over the fish on your plate. I served this with Mexican Rice (Rice-a-Roni) with one small can petite diced tomatoes (using some of the liquid in the rice and 1/2 chopped onion) and a veggie. VERY good, and will make often!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

Baked Salmon II

See a straightforward, 5-star recipe for making baked salmon.

How to Make Salmon in Parchment

See how to make a moist salmon fillet baked in parchment paper.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States