Margarita Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 16, 2015
Made this for my husband and daughter, both VERY PICKY eaters, and they both loved it!! I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Russell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by thisizkim
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
I doubled the recipe and spooned a little bit of the sauce on the chicken as it first went in and then added more sauce every 10 minutes or so. Wonderful flavor, served it with Cilantro Lime Rice and mango avocado salsa and it was just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
I was really pleased with this recipe! I followed it exactly for the chicken and sauce. I'm not really used to broiling, so I didn't realize that you should put the chicken on the top shelf very close to the heat. But once I realized my mistake, I moved it and the chicken had a nice charred look to it. I think broiling it tastes just as good as grilled and was super easy. I didn't serve the chicken on the tortilla, but instead served it over Spanish rice and black beans. Then I added tortilla strips to make it a bit crunchy (like they do in "that restaurant") and cut up the tomatoes and avocado with some lime juice as a topping. I also took another reviewer's advice and cut slits in the chicken prior to cooking, the marinade seeps in and makes it extra yummy. It was fantastic! My husband loved it. Adding it to the rotation for sure. Next time I may pound the chicken to make it a bit thinner and experiment with different salsa toppings. Thanks for a great summer recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I made the sauce as directed, but cooked the chicken in a skillet and added the sauce to the second half for the cooking time. We really were looking forward to this recipe. It sounded so good, but unfortunately it just didn't suit our taste. We found the sauce to be very bitter and it's just not something I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
Delicious marinade recipe. Four stars this way, five stars mine. I took the advice of several commenters and doubled the recipe, except for the lime. (I also omitted the cornstarch and used minced garlic instead of garlic salt.) I didn't have fresh so used lime juice instead and used about four or five tbs. I started by rubbing bone-in chicken breasts(2) with vegetable oil, then liberally sprinkling each with Greek seasoning. I grilled instead of broiled and after browning on each side started basting with the marinade. After slow grilling for about 45 minutes, they were absolutely delicious! Served with white lime rice, corn, fresh avocado and a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
I read all the reviews about the chicken being tough and since I didn't have access to a grill at the time, I cut the chicken into strips and sautéed in the sauce. (I doubled the sauce as well and highly recommend that as well.) Instead of just tomato and avocado slices, I made fresh guacamole and put that on top. With those few changes I give it 4 stars, next time I will add some green chilies (or even some fresh chopped jalapenos if I'm feeling adventurous) into the chicken mixture and I think that would take up to a 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
very good recipe, used chicken thighs and I used maple syrup instead of honey. it was a 'you can make this again' review!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
I thought the sauce was ok, but the hubs said it had too much honey. I didn't broil the chicken, but pounded thin and sautéed in a bit of oil so that it didn't dry out. This was super fast/easy to make, but the taste was just average.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlevoix, Michigan, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
i think this dish was just not our taste. i grilled instead of broiled as many reviewers suggested, but found the lime-y flavor to be kind of unpleasant. perhaps it was too sweet for me, i'm not sure. the kids just kind of picked at it, and although i finished mine, i'm not excited that i have three leftover breasts in the fridge. i think i will keep my margaritas in a glass from now on :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Besides using tenders instead of breasts, I don't alter this recipe at all, which is rare. Love the chicken sliced and used in tacos. I do grill the chicken instead of broil. Makes a nice "fresh" meal on a summer day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jefferson, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Avocado Chicken

Pan-fried chicken topped with a fresh avocado and red onion salsa.

Chicken Milano

A tasty Italian-influenced chicken dish with sun-dried tomatoes and cream.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States